We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will find better”
Review of The Tanis Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tanis Villas
Reviewed 23 August 2012

It's hard to write a bad review when the staff are so nice but this hotel is just not up to scratch. We stayed for two nights as a break from the hussle and bussle of Kuta. Check in was pleasant and the staff were very good. When we went to our room well, disappointment is the only way to describe our feeling. The villa located at the back of the resort looked very nice on the outside set amongst lush gardens, however, on entering the villa it all changed. The room although quite large was very sparsely furnished. There was a queen sized bed one small bedside cabinet containing the mini bar fridge and that's it. Nowhere to sit, no table, no television nor radio.The bed was comfortable but the insect net had several holes in it.
The outside bathroom was our next adventure. The sink tap only had a dribble of water coming out and no hot water. The toilet was very tarnished and weathered and did not refill after flushing. I had to refill the tank by hand using the tap next to it. Time to jump under the shower, whoops the handle came straight off in my hand. Remember when you have an outdoor bathroom, bring the toilet tissue indoors after use just in case it rains. One more thing, there is no fresh water or toiletries provided. At AUD$75.00 per night there are better options. The best thing is the location, right on the beach. Absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baliboundagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 106 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We (two adults and two kids aged 8 and 5) spent 7 nights here in early July 2012. I have mixed feelings about our stay, we enjoyed our holiday but there is the potential for Tanis Villas to be much better. Essentially it's quite run down and the rooms, in our experience, need a good clean and a plumbing overhaul. We stayed in a two-bedroomed Villa - which had two king size bedrooms with an indoor ensuite each, with a connecting door. The beds were comfortable but the sheets and towels were old and grubby - they could really do with new linen. The biggest issue was that there was no hot water - cold water showers only. Which was Ok for my husband and I but way too cold for the kids. I believe some rooms do have hot water plumbed - though not always working - so it's worth checking on the hot water situation when booking if you are there in the cooler season. the staff were all friendly and helpful. We both had massages which were good.
The two pool areas are very nice and the kids enjoyed swimming everyday, but the water was a little cool for me, the pool loungers could also do with some maintenance. The beach at Mushroom Bay was OK for the kids snorkeling and swimming but you have to watch for boats.

At Tanis The breakfasts were basic but OK. We just ordered extras when we wanted these - such as fresh juices and fruit plates both costing less than $2 AUS each. We had lots of lunches and few dinners at Tanis, the meals were generally OK - good and well priced. my favorites were a Balianese chicken dish and the baked fish cooked one night following an early morning (5.30 am departure) fishing trip by my Husband and 8 year old son.
we also ate at the Bali Hi restaurant (very good), Bali Cafe (good), The Mexican place (good), Beach Club at Sandy Bay (good). Overall the food on Lembongan was more expensive and as good as Bali, but it has other charms.
I surfed most days at Lacerations which is a good beginner to intermediate wave when the swell is small (only 1-2 foot while I was there). I also surfed at Mushroom Beach once and got a few fun waves but it's very tide dependent.
We enjoyed Lembongan for a laid back holiday, with surfing, snorkeling, swimming, riding scooters and exploring Lembongan and Ceningan. I would definitely holiday on Lembongan again, but would only stay at Tanis with hot water and if there is an improvement in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask if it has hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidaybelle6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was our second stay at Tanis Villas and again we loved it. We had the suite facing the pool and it was great for us having 2 children who could play and swim and we could see them from the daybed on the verandah. The 2 pools were great, lovely gardens and the room was everything we needed. A little run down but nothing major, little things that just made us laugh really, typically Balinese! The young staff were super friendly and layed back and were happy to help in any way with a smile. We stayed for 7 days and enjoyed just relaxing. Food was great and cheap too. My husband rented a motorbike through Tanis too. Wayan was great with our online booking and organizing boat transfers. Highly recommend Tanis Villas.

Room Tip: The suite and one and two bedroom villas are closest to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaitecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the Tanis Villas for 7 nights with our 2 kids (5 and 1 years old). We met up with my Dutch relatives, two adults and a 16 year old. The four of us were in Room Satya 1 and 2 - basically 2 rooms under one roof joint together through a door. Both rooms had massive double beds and an outdoor bathroom and we also had a fridge in one of the rooms which was daily filled up with water and beers by the staff. My relatives were in a similar bungalow (although with indoor bathrooms) just across from us. The beds had mosquito nets around it but we didn't see many mozzies. Aircon was working well, we turned it off at night otherwise we got too cold. The rooms are quite spacious, we could have probably stayed in one room with the four of us rather than 2 jointed rooms.

Although I probably agree with other reviews that this place could do with some renovating, it totally didn't bother us. My Dutch relatives never had warm water and they weren't bothered either, they either showered cold or had a shower at our place. The WiFi connection was slow and didn't always work but again, didn't bother us.

We found the breakfast servings a little small but overall the food was very nice. My 5 year old was addicted to the 'Nasi Goring Pagi' which he probably ate twice a day! Once every couple of days the Tanis put on a buffet which was a nice variation to the menu.

The place was filled with kids which was great, and our 5 year old loved the pools and couldn't get enough of it. As our bungalow was pretty close to the pool and restaurant area, our babyphone was in range which was an added bonus - whenever our baby had a nap we could relax at the pool without having to check up on her, or sometimes the kids went to bed early and we had dinner with the adults later. Perfect!!

The thing that we loved most about the Tanis Villas was the staff. Always making jokes with our kids, always a smile, nothing was too much. Our baby had an ear infection and the owner of the Tanis is a doctor too so he had a look at her (they provide free 24 hrs doctor service - ideal when you have little kids!). One hour later we had antibiotics brought to our door! And that for a fee that is not even worth claiming back with insurance.

We booked two trips through the Tanis, one snorkling tour which was awesome, and one trip around the island. Definitely worthwhile doing. We also walked one afternoon across to Sunset Beach where we had dinner at 'Blackie's Place' - a pub overviewing the rough ocean and about 10 minutes walk from the Tanis. My husband surfed every day (either just at Mushroom Bay or at Playgrounds but this break is so popular, too many people he found), and he also went on a boat to another break somewhere arranged by the Tanis together with another guest.

We found Mushroom Bay nicer than the main area on the island. Less busy, lots of nice restaurants and a little mini-market which is handy for snacks and milk for the kids. What else do you need? We had booked the trip over through Scoot although the Tanis also provides their own boat. Scoot was good though, and they delivered us to the Tanis, picked us up a week later and also brought us to our next destination in Ubud. We had brought life jackets for the kids for just in case.

For us this was the perfect place to spend a week together. We loved it!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We all see things differently but here goes .Positives are great pools great location right on beach ,we stayed in an ocean view villa huge rooms nice and bright.Negatives curtains in rooms are too small for windows, door handles falling off,no hot water for two days,mould everywhere in bathroom we had outside bathrooms, toilets didnt flush properly and were falling apart,sheets not changed for 4 days dirty the day we arrived,towels also not changed and dirty as well.Never left any toilet paper either,Breakfast worst Ive ever had in Bali.The place would be great if they took a little more pride and fixed things that were broken and changed dirty sheets ect .Staff are nice but really really laid back, didnt seem to care or want to do much.Needs TLC

Room Tip: The ocean view villas are larger and brighter than the ones scattered around the grounds ,but they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAURY003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.3 km away
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
#22 of 27 in Nusa Lembongan
165 reviews
0.4 km away
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
#36 of 143 in Nusa Lembongan
196 reviews
0.6 km away
Seaside Huts Lembongan
Seaside Huts Lembongan
#4 of 143 in Nusa Lembongan
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sunset Villas
Sunset Villas
#70 of 143 in Nusa Lembongan
62 reviews
0.1 km away
The Well House Lembongan Island
The Well House Lembongan Island
#5 of 106 in Nusa Lembongan
173 reviews
0.3 km away
Sedok Jineng Villa
Sedok Jineng Villa
#30 of 143 in Nusa Lembongan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tanis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tanis Villas

Address: Mushroom Bay, 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: $35 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tanis Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Tanis Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tanis Villas Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing