We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have enough appetite”
Review of RIO churrasco

RIO churrasco
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Stansstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 26 - USD 99
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, Swiss, Bar, Grill
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Rio Churrasco.
We went for the A Discretion all-you-can-eat option which requires a solid appetite to be worth it. It is a bit overwhelming at first as waiters show up every other minute with huge skewers of different cuts of meat cooked on the central grill. Meat was quite good, and we enjoyed nearly all cuts (chicken hearts were the only ones we passed on). There is a salad and warm sides buffet, but you are better off not touching them and concentrate on meats. The experience skirts a little bit on quantity over quality, it was very good but no cut was out of this world.
There are very good (and pricey) wines on the menu.
Terrasse appears enjoyable but is only available for à-la-carte service.
Booking advised as the place is really popular.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ze_shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2015

Large Restaurant situated on the road to Stans - outside the tourist area. Locals eat there and there is a nice lunch menu at an attractive price. The Cordon Bleu was excellent and to the same high standard that the owner achieved at his previous restaurant the Krone. It is also a South American Steak style restaurant and we are looking forward to trying this food which is available on Thursday and Friday and Weekend evenings.

The place is spotless, nicely planned

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ircgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Everybody was telling us we should go to Rio Churrasco because it was so awesome, so we went. It was a nice evening, good music in Spanish or Portiguese, I really, really liked it. Food was good but nothing I haven't had before or surpassed any expectations.
We took the A la Discretion Menu, which is CHF 58 per person. I wasn't so delighted about the salad menu and the "Beilangen", at times the salad and Beilangen bar were empty and easily you got discouraged to go inside for more of it.
Service was friendly. Unfortunately it is located away from Lucerne (city) so you have to drive there, no public transportation for us to comeback home.
Yes, is a good restaurant, I would come back again, I would recommend it to friends and I would invite my guests for a nice dinner there.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pataswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This restaurant is exactly what was missing in the canton for a long time. When entering inside you really think that you just stepped into a new trendy place in London or Dubai. Lovely ambience and interior, with great seating possibilites outside aswell. You do come here though for the food which is mostly meat. The main reason people come here is for the brazilian churassco. The meat selection offers around 10-12 different types of cuts of meat, all cooked really tasty. Salad buffet is not overwhelming, but good and the side dish buffet offers something for everyone.

Service is warm and friendly and I'd say the value for money expecially for the churassco is really unbeaten.

Highly highly recommended particularly if you had enough of all the same Pizzerias and typical Swiss restaurants in the region!

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pcfreak60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RIO churrasco also viewed

 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Emmen, Canton of Lucerne
Hergiswil, Canton of Nidwalden
 

Been to RIO churrasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing