We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming”
other travellers have booked this property
The Beach House Layou Dominca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beach House Layou Dominca
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The Beach House Layou Dominca
grill in outdoor area upstairs
Outdoor living area upstairs
Outdoor living area upstairs
Outdoor living area upstairs
Kitchen & bar area
Kitchen area
Living room chairs
Living room from loft.  Double futon
Living room w/double futon
Double futon in living room
5 foot/2 meter ladder to sleeping loft
King size bed in sleeping loft
View from upstairs outdoor area
View from upstairs outdoor area
Exterior of house a/c unit
Off street parking in garage will fit a full size SUV
Garage w/laundry room
Stairs to upstairs outdoor living area
Stairs to back of house
Upstairs bathroom with hot water shower
Solar water heater
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mero, Saint Joseph Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Margaux F
1 review
“Charming”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our stay in this place was amazing. Good place with people very nice. A beautiful Terrace, with a beautiful view. We loved all the atmosphere!! I recommend!

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Margaux
Thank you for the lovely review. I hope to see you again in Dominica or when I visit Guadaloupe
Patti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy B
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Patti was a fabulous host. She had just returned to Dominica after being gone on some adventures with her husband. The village is great. It can be noisy in the day, but quiets down at night. The sunset from the top deck are amazing. Even more so with a glass of wine in the hot tub. Patti even has a privacy curtain to block the neighbors view of the tub. The house is centrally located for exloring Dominica. The main house is one room and cozy . It is decorated with Patti's husband's underwater photos. The sleeping loft is up a ladder to a king bed. The living room, the house is one room, has a double futon.
This house has great neighbors who watch out for you. It is the perfect place to stay. I'd do it again.

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam J
Dominica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Perfect location,next to layou river,this beach house with air con & wifi gave all the comforts of home & all round views .
Perfectly placed in the middle of the island ,
Also gave great insight to island local life,if you need anything just ask there's always someone who can help .
If on a short break 1-2weeks a car is a must ,you don't want to miss anything,you'll be stopping for pics everywhere
The owner Patricia Rendell (patty) is a sweetie who just shares her love of dominica

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wifi air con
Liked least: Sand was to hot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVR155019
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Beach House”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
7
people found this review helpful

We have rated the beach house a 5. But for some the ladder to the sleeping loft might render the house not the best choice. I am a fit senior who, personally, had no problems with it. This is a great place to stay for most everyone, because of the beach location, the gorgeous sunsets, the village neighbors (especially Mary and clam, who have a store and take out restaurant next-door - when we didn't feel like cooking or going out to eat, they provided us delicious chicken and fish and provided us with most of the provisions we needed.) The Beach House is two floors. The main floor has the main kitchen, Coach chairs WC and sleeping loft. The second floor covered Terrace, open on two sides, windows with screens on the third, has two hammocks, a BBQ and hot tub. From here in our rental car we travel to almost the whole of the island, over several days. You will probably need a car. We recommend Valley car rentals and thank Merle & Miguel for their great service. Miguel picked us up and delivered us to the ferry. we had a problem with the car's AC. Miguel brought a replacement vehicle to our door. Thanks go to our host, Patti, who is gracious, knowledgable and very helpful for all of our needs and concerns. She supplied a local mobile phone which came in very handy. We highly recommend this location

Date of stay: February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie616
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay at The Beach House”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Patti was a great host, so friendly and warm and definitely made us feel right at home in Layou. The village is great, people are very friendly and the food is delicious. Loved the Beach House, it had everything we needed and sunsets on the top deck were amazing. I would wholeheartedly recommend Patti's place to anyone looking to explore Dominica because it's perfectly situated in close proximity to a lot of great hikes, waterfalls, beaches and towns. If I return I'd stay there again in a second. Thanks again for your hospitality!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Wish I could have stayed longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.