We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly - typical food from Dominica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Bay Boutique Hotel
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We liked the friendly atmosphere and best food and drinks on the island. Prices are resonable and the accomodation much better than the wellknown Tamarind Hotel 2 miles away. We spent amusing hours with angela the owner of the hotel. Try the selfmade rum punch.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellsusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2008

Excellent stay

Our stay in the Dominica was a marvellous and unforgettable experience. It helped immensely by deciding to stay at the Morning Bird Apartment Hotel. My daughter and I stayed in a beautiful modern self-contained apartment. It was like “home-away-from home”. The apartment was cleaned daily and the fresh sheets and towels were comforting after a day of various trips and trails. It was great waking every morning to the breathtaking views of the mountains and the Caribbean Sea. The beach was only a stones throw away from the hotel, unfortunately with so much to do on the Island we only managed to spend one day on it.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Rosma the receptionist, and enjoyed the wonderful food that was prepared for us.

I would just like to say BIG thanks to all the staff who were friendly and helpful and especially to Rosma and Angela for your great hospitality and kindness and for going out of your way to help out with advice.
(I still can’t find a decent mango in London!)

We had a great time being with you and thanks again for all you did to make our stay simply excellent

Corinne and I love the Island and I’m trying to decide when we can return! We already miss the beauty and energy of Dominica.

2  Thank Sharona5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Island Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: London Road, Mero 839, Dominica (Formerly Morning Bird Apartment Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Joseph Parish > Mero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mero
Price Range: AU$176 - AU$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Bay Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Island Bay Boutique Hotel" is a small, family-run intimate boutique hotel located on the west coast of Dominica, about 30 minutes' drive from Roseau (our capital city), and is close to all major attractions on the island. With stunning sunset views overlooking the Caribbean and Mero Bay below, we are surrounded by lush, tropical rain forest mountains. Just a five minute walk to Mero Beach, the longest and one of the most beautiful black sand beaches in Dominica, our hotel provides our guests the convenience of the beach and small shops in the village of Mero, while being located close to everything to be seen and experienced on this “magical” island - one of the most pristine scuba diving destinations in the Caribbean, eco-tourism, magnificent waterfalls, our famous "Boiling Lake", "Carib Territory", and more! The "Island Bay Boutique Hotel" offers our guest five exceptional and modern hotel suites - four Deluxe Seaview Suites with commanding views of the Caribbean from our spacious balconies, and one Standard Mountainview Suite (no balcony). Each Deluxe Seaview Suite has two bedrooms with double beds, ceiling fans, living room area, bathroom/shower, cable TV and complimentary internet access. Our Standard Mountainview Suite is very spacious and has one bedroom with double bed, ceiling fans, living room area, bathroom/shower, cable TV and complimentary internet access. Savour our local, fresh and delicious Creole cuisine and seafood at our Outlook Restaurant & Bar, where our guests can enjoy full breakfast, lunch and dinner (reservations advised) service. The views of the Caribbean Sea below and the surrounding mountains are magnificent, and many of our guests enjoy their morning coffee on the restaurant patio, or relaxing in the evening with a glass of wine or a Kubuli, our local Dominican beer. For everything to see and experience on "The Nature Island of the Caribbean", we are here to assist in every way, such as arranging transfer from the airport, car rental, scuba diving or whale watching trips, island tours, etc. - we are here to make your stay as easy, uncomplicated and comfortable as possible! We accept VISA and MasterCard. Our paramount mandate is to ensure that each and every guest at the "Island Bay Boutique Hotel" treasures their stay with us and their trip to Dominica, whether for scuba diving, eco-tourism and whale watching, or simply soaking up the warm Caribbean sun on our Mero Beach nearby. "Our Paradise...Make It Yours!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Island Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing