We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super, characterful and historic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Gildhall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gildhall
Warm and cosy siting room Large dining room with refectory table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Gildhall
Warm and cosy siting room
Large dining room with refectory table
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Corrie H
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Super, characterful and historic cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Gildhall was everything we'd hoped and more. Full of character, plenty of space and conveniently situated for visiting many of Suffolk's treasures. Five of us stayed and we weren't cramped. Plenty of space if you wanted your own time. Our little dog loved it too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
touristab...
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a stunning characterful cottage in a perfect location easily reachable by car and also only 15 mins drive from Colchester Station and around 45 mins from Stansted airport. The breakfast pack and tea coffee and cake that the owner supplied where much appreciated as was the detailed information pack on both the cottage and the local area. There are many good pubs and restaurants within a short drive and we were not disappointed with our choice of The Crown in Stoke by Nayland, the fish dishes in particular were lovely.Ours was a family group of 5 with the age range of 70-23 so good for all as long as you can negotiate the winding staircase that is! The Aga and wood burning fires set the scene for a perfect winter break but equally i am sure the well kept grounds would be a delight in the spring/summertime. We cannot wait to return as Guilhall Cottage more than ticks all the boxes , the place is so pretty you will relax as soon as you step inside just perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walker visit from Surrey”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to stay at the Gildhall- we brought our teenage daughter with us - kicking and screaming as she didn't want to leave the civilisation of Surrey ( her words!) and she has been converted !
We had a lovely couple of days exploring the lovely countryside and de stressing !
The Gidhall is perfectly placed for exploring the local pubs and villages - and has every possible amenitie you could wish for - the attention to detail is phenomenal .
The welcome bacon, eggs, milk and carrot cake - was so wonderful.
We wood highly recommend the Gildhall to everyone .
Cannot wait to return and we are already discussing when to rreturn as we drove Dow the A12 back to Surrey !
Thank you !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very nice, well equipped, has a nice garden and is clean. It would have been nice if the owner welcomed us in person instead of just leaving a breakfast welcome pack. We met no one from the beginning until we left, but overall a pleasant stay.

The information pack (folder) is a bit out of date, there is information about tickets to Framlingham Castle that is not accurate.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing