We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality evening meal”
Review of Cliffhanger Cafe

Cliffhanger Cafe
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Highcliffe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Had fabulous evening meal here great steaks and amazing pudding.service was excellent and views lovely.only thing that let it down was the badly stained long cushion I sat on.However good the food it does not feel nice to sit on something that feels dirty.Hope this can be soon sorted.

Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your 5* review

So pleased you enjoyed your evening experience at Cliffhanger
All our food is locally sourced and cooked fresh to order.

Cliffhanger has recently been refurbished but due to an extremely busy period and a constant stream of traffic certain areas need renovation again.

Do try one of our many tribute nights or quiz nights.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Menu very fish based but don't let this put you off. Children's menu basic but still choice. Reasonable price. Food including puddling excellent quality. Fast service. Staff very friendly. Toilets clean. Wonderful views of coast. Outside eating area too. Parking only problem as have to pay and display as next to beach. Definitely return again.

Thank SpfJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review

Thank you for pointing out all our positives.

Reasonable price
Excellent quality food
Fast Service
Friendly Staff

Look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Every time I visit Highcliffe, I make a point of eating lunch or dinner at this restaurant and have never been disappointed. I particularly lovely on a clear day to have a window seat. Will be back.

Thank td8l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review

How lovley that you always visit Cliffhanger when you come to Highcliffe.

Your absolutely correct the window seat on a clear day is perfect.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

3 sisters and 1 niece meeting for afternoon coffee and cake - not very busy at all considering the beautiful location, fantastic views across the sea and beach. On finding a table outside, my 2 sisters and niece gave me what they wanted and 1 sister & I went to order- my sister was served first , she requested what she wanted and was commanded to, with pointed finger, “stand there and wait for your food”, my turn! I ordered the mussels and without any eye contact or apology it was “barked” that there isn’t any mussels, the server then looked up and starred at me, tutted and went to say something, being embarrassed I simply ordered fries !! Not my usual choice at all. The server was expecting my sister who was waiting patiently for her order to watch her coffees getting cold whilst standing waiting for the Teacake - refusing to hand over the tray with coffees on as they don’t do waitress service from here! My fries however were brought out by a waiter who literally thumped the bowl down . Beautiful surroundings but not the cheapest place to rude staff, such a shame that staff don’t realise that each customer could be spending the last of their borrowed time enjoying life !! Not one of us is Guaranteed a tomorrow - smiling, manners and patience cost nothing xxxx

3  Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We pre-booked a party of 10 with orders and had a table with the best views.
Service was excellent and all meals were served up to perfection.
The quality and presentation was first class.
Everything was done to our make our morning out a success.
All of our party said how much they enjoyed it all.
Many thanks to all the staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review

So pleased your party of 10 had a wonderful experience at Cliffhanger

Service,quality and presentation are all key points the Cliffhanger strive to deliver every day.

Our Cliffhanger team will be very happy with your superb comments.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cliffhanger Cafe also viewed

Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to Cliffhanger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing