We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu limited”
Review of Cliffhanger Cafe

Cliffhanger Cafe
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Highcliffe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Food very good but no panines sandwiches, baps etc. Had poached eggs with smoked salmon, lovely soft eggs but a lot of people just want snack food at lunch especially when on the beach

Thank sueclarke28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for your 4* review

So pleased you enjoyed your food at Cliffhanger.

We do a range of open style sandwiches for example our prawn on focaccia bread is very popular.

Also our hot dogs and twice baked chips are another good snack that sells very well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
We’ve got lots of events coming up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Great breakfast!!! ...but we noticed it’s looking a bit shabby inside now. Walls need a paint (wipe cleanable emulsion would be a good idea!) and the long fabric covered seat that I sat on was filthy! Needs reupholstering with a wipe clean fabric like their other chairs.
The food was great! Such a shame that these problems have let it down and it could so easily be corrected...we have a Xmas booking made for one of your fabulous tribute nights in December...I hope this gets sorted before then...

Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your 4* review

So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.

The Cliffhanger was recently refurbished throughout as with any establishment that has a huge volume of traffic it’s constantly being refreshed and we appreciate these points and will address this.

Tribute nights especially Christmas dates are limited spaces now, glad you’ve got booked in and we look forward to welcoming you back for a great night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Walked up for lunch on hot sunny day from Mudeford. In the recent heat it was a long hot walk, but worth it for lunch. Food was really nice and service great - friendly and quick. The location provides for great views.

Would we go back again - of course and we plan to. Would recommend this to anyone.

Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review

Your absolutely correct the location of Cliffhanger set overlooking the sea towards the Isle of Wight are stunning.

So worth the walk and delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Went with my family on a busy Saturday lunchtime, we were seated instantly and given excellent service despite the fullness of the restaurant! Wide verity of food off the menu including Vegan options, which for my brother was amazing! Look forward to going again!

Thank lucy121212345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Director of Sales at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review

So pleased you enjoyed your Saturday lunch experience at Cliffhanger.


Vegan options and all other types of personal dietary requirements are catered for at Clliffhanger.

Please come back soon and sample one of our many other events and popular breakfasts and evening tributes.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Twice this restaurant have given such poor service that I have walked out without a meal.

The service is slow and when you do finally get served they won’t do any swaps, no baked beans and over priced.

It was too much trouble for the chef to swap a fried egg for a poached egg, the waitress just flatly refused, when we asked her to go and ask she took so long to come back that we just left

Sorry highcliffe cafe but we will not be returning for a third time lucky, despite your beautiful views.

Very disappointing

2  Thank vjduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you for your review we were disappointed to see your 1 star review as you can see from your visit Cliffhanger is a very popular and busy venue especially for breakfast, unfortunately we are unable to offer swaps on breakfast at peak times as we have a very varied breakfast menu, offering fresh cooked to order meals, with some other local restaurants that do not offer any swaps when we can we are happy to accommodate our customer requirements but sometimes this is not possible.

With regards to our breakfast menu we changed our menu in October and have come up with some fantastic dishes (yes we do not offer baked beans but have other greats dishes instead) our customer favourites are the Chewton Bunny, Go green & Homemade banana nut pancakes as we were asked to freshen up the menu with some different breakfast items which have gone down so well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cliffhanger Cafe also viewed

Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to Cliffhanger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing