We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafront Cafe!”
Review of Cliffhanger Cafe

Cliffhanger Cafe
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Highcliffe
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This cafe is in a lovely position overlooking the sea at Highcliffe. It made a welcome oasis on a rather grey day so we could enjoy the panoramic views in comfort over a hot chocolate and toasted teacake. Although it doesn't look very attractive from the outside the inside has a fresh sea-themed decor on the inside. One of the high points of Highcliffe!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Dear Jaki T
Thank you for your kind review of The Cliffhanger.
We are delighted you enjoyed your hot chocolate and toasted teacake and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards The PR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

Truly impressive views along the coast towards Barton on Sea and the Isle of Wight.
If views are your thing then this is the place for you. They seem busy even on overcast days with a steady business in coffee during the day and suppers in the evening. We have tried both the coffee during the day, very good, and supper in the evening. The service is brisk and polite with a special priced menu as well as a good selection of grills. Our next trip is going to take in a tribute night, which sounds good fun. Well worth the visit although the food is modest the views really make up for it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Richard P
Thank you for your kind and informative review of The Cliffhanger.
We are glad you enjoyed your coffee which we have just changed to a new bean and enjoyed your evening meal with us.
We would advise you to book your tribute night as soon as possible as many of our Christmas Tributes are selling fast.
All our Tribute Night Dates can be found on our web site.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards The PR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere and good service. Manager was very accommodating and very friendly. Situated on cliff top with lovely sea views looking over to the Isle of Wight

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Karen C
Thank you for your kind review of The Cliffhanger.
I will pass on your kind comments to Michelle our Manager.
We are delighted you enjoyed the views to The Isle Of Wight and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards The PR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Whilst visiting Lymington we parked in the Cliff Top car park and saw this restaurant which is just by the entrance to the car park. We also spotted that there were some toilets which could be accessed without going into the restaurant which was helpful.

Around the rear of the restaurant there is a takeaway area and you can get Mr Whippy style ice creams including 99s with a flake.

The lady serving was nice and friendly.

Prices were average for this type of icecream, the same as a van.

The location is brilliant and if you went in for food or drinks you get a wonderful view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Angiep49
Thank you for your kind review Of The Cliffhanger.
We are delighted you enjoyed Mr Whippy 99 and found the young lady who served you to be helpful and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards The PR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Found this more or less by accident, just visiting all the car parks to find a place with easy access for coffee & snack. We had a friendly welcome from the waitress and the service was good. We just had chicken wings with the most delicious & unusual salad. Highly recommended. Tables are a bit basic but at least they were kept clean. Plenty of seating both inside and out. I should imagine this place just heaves and must get really busy.
It is set on the cliff top and has unparalleled, panoramic views of the coast from Hengistbury Head right over to the Isle of Wight Needles. Worth visiting just for that alone. The restaurant is open 7 days a week for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. They also hold Tribute nights for which you need to book.
We will certainly be back here to eat and also to investigate the area, there must be dozens of beautiful walks from here.
The car park is Pay & Display.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liketosee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Cliffhanger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Liketosee11
Thank you for your kind and very informative review of The Cliffhanger.
We are delighted you found us by accident and enjoyed your meals and the stunning views to The Isle Of Wight.
I could not have written a better review myself !! So thank you for making my job so much easier !
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards The PR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cliffhanger Cafe also viewed

Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to Cliffhanger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing