We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five stars are not enough!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Poppies

Poppies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room
Double shower
Floor plan
Garden
Garden with decking
Berrynarbor, Village Centre
Berrynarbor, Pub and distant sea view
St Peter's Church, Berrynarbor
Berrynarbor
Watermouth Harbour
Little Hangman
Ilfracombe Harbour
Verity, Ilfracombe
Lantern Hill, Ilfracombe
Great Hangman (from Holdstone Down)
Woody Bay - winter scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ffls
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Five stars are not enough!”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From booking onwards Andy and Allison went out of their way to ensure we felt at ease and comfortable. All email communications were friendly and helpful and we started looking forward to our holiday feeling we were in caring and safe hands.

When we arrived there was a gorgeous cream tea waiting for us! There was tea, coffee and sugar so we could dive right in and make a cuppa too. Can't tell you how grateful we were for that!

There is literally everything you could need to live self sufficiently and every piece of kitchen equipment you need. Scissors, cling film, washing up liquid, cooking utensils (all clean and plentiful), I could go on but having been on a lot of self catering holidays I can safely say this is the most well equipped and thought out property we've stayed at. It was as if every whim and want had been anticipated - it really made our holiday to have such a lovely place to stay.

The dual aspect bedroom is fresh, clean and so cheerful, lots of space to put your clothes and a bedspread in one of the cupboards if you get chilly... not that you can as the cottage has it's own independent and very efficient heating system. The lovely powerful double sized shower was BLISS in the mornings. We swear the lovely big fluffy towels were brand new and there were spare toilet rolls too.

The lounge / kitchen / dinner is a great size and so fresh and stylish. There were DVD's if you were bored with TV and a few shelves stocked with novels and tourist guides. Even a brolly for two was thoughtfully provided along with a blanket on the sofa for cuddling up to a film. Oh and the delight of always available wifi... yay!

The garden nook has a table and chairs in just the right position to catch the sun and is sufficiently secluded that you feel safe and private.

We found Berrynarbour the perfect base for exploring North Devon and would recommend both the village, and in particular Poppies, to anyone wanting a holiday in the UK.

I cannot praise Andy and Allison enough for the detail and care they put into ensuring anyone staying at Poppies will feel relaxed and happy from the moment they pull up. Well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Like a love nest... safe, clean and homely
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Oh my, what a lovely review (brought a tear to my eye!). We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and Poppies was everything you hoped for in a holiday cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
116jls
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything perfect!”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We could not have asked for better. Accommodation beautifully kept and fully equipped; good to have free wifi and Sky TV for use in the evenings along with a selection of books and tourist information. On arrival we were welcomed by scones, jam and cream plus a bottle of wine and even our dog received some doggy treats. Another lovely little touch was that Sophie and Andy kindly baked me some muffins and gave me another bottle of wine on finding out it was my birthday. Berrynarbotr itself is a picturesque village with its own shop and olde worlde pub, the villagers being very welcoming and chatty. There are lots of things to do round and about, beaches, coastal walks, pubs, sightseeing etc and most places we visited were very "dog friendly" which is a big plus when you are on holiday. We shall definitely be revisiting "Poppies" soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ideal venue for a relaxing holiday
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review. So pleased you had a great stay, and look forward to you coming back to us (remember we offer a discount for returning guests!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah r
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful cottage in excellent location”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in poppies,very clean ,warm and cosy.On our arrival we were welcomed by the very nice and friendly owners.We enjoyed the cream tea and Pete our greyhound enjoyed his doggy treats,the flowers were a nice touch aswell.Poppies is situated in the lovely village of Berrynarbour,just a short walk to the local shop and the pub.I would definitely recommend Poppies to family and friends as it was one of the best cottages we have stayed in,a credit to the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: liked everything
Liked least: everything was a positive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Poppies again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenor54
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location to experience the area”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great week in this lovely cottage despite the rather wet conditions. Just the right place to return to each evening and settle down and relax.
Well equipped, friendly hosts and a cream tea at the start!
Want a relaxing week in a lovely location - don't hesitate go for Poppies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a glowing review - such a shame it was a rather soggy week but glad Poppies was a comfortable haven for you. Really lovely to welcome you to Poppies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little cottage with everything you need for a relaxing holiday and done out to a very high standard. Even the dogs felt relaxed and at home. Perfect position for visiting so many places too. Would definitely recommend it. Lovely friendly owners who live next door if you need them. Cream tea, flowers and doggy biscuits on arrival are a lovely touch. Many thanks to the owners. Hope to visit again one day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Wow, what a lovely review, thank you. We're delighted you, and your fur babies, enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to Poppies for your holiday, we hope to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing