We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location to experience the area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Poppies

Poppies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room
Double shower
Floor plan
Garden
Garden with decking
Berrynarbor, Village Centre
Berrynarbor, Pub and distant sea view
St Peter's Church, Berrynarbor
Berrynarbor
Watermouth Harbour
Little Hangman
Ilfracombe Harbour
Verity, Ilfracombe
Lantern Hill, Ilfracombe
Great Hangman (from Holdstone Down)
Woody Bay - winter scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tenor54
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location to experience the area”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great week in this lovely cottage despite the rather wet conditions. Just the right place to return to each evening and settle down and relax.
Well equipped, friendly hosts and a cream tea at the start!
Want a relaxing week in a lovely location - don't hesitate go for Poppies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a glowing review - such a shame it was a rather soggy week but glad Poppies was a comfortable haven for you. Really lovely to welcome you to Poppies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little cottage with everything you need for a relaxing holiday and done out to a very high standard. Even the dogs felt relaxed and at home. Perfect position for visiting so many places too. Would definitely recommend it. Lovely friendly owners who live next door if you need them. Cream tea, flowers and doggy biscuits on arrival are a lovely touch. Many thanks to the owners. Hope to visit again one day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Wow, what a lovely review, thank you. We're delighted you, and your fur babies, enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to Poppies for your holiday, we hope to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delighted...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heavon in Devon”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely little cottage in a very picturesque village, superb location. Outstanding beaches and attractions within easy reach. Perfect for recharging the batteries or plenty to see and do if you are feeling more energetic. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for such lovely feedback. Berrynarbor is certainly good for a recharge of those batteries! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roderick...
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another perfect holiday at Poppies.”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After 12 months of looking forward to another holiday at Poppies we were not disappointed this year. As before, the cottage, set in a charming little village off the main road, was immaculate, and contained everything we could need for a perfect break. Our hosts are a delightful family who do all they can to make you feel welcome, including a cream tea and doggie treats awaiting us and our dog on arrival. "Poppies" is a holiday rental we can thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly family welcome.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
It was so wonderful to welcome you back to Poppies, and so hard to say goodbye again (our Baby Bird was most upset!) We look forward to the next time, xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
771yorkie...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We found Poppies the ideal relaxing holiday with lovely facilities and therefore not having to worry about anything.
Our hosts think of everything and it is perfect for visiting the holiday sights.
We would certainly recommend to anyone and this is a genuine review something that I sincerely felt I wanted to write.
The fact that we will look to return next year says it all.



Chris and Carol Bagshot

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year (don't forget the 10% discount we offer for returning guests!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing