We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not have had a better time, fantastic”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kellyg201...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will not be returning!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Barn conversion and outside areas have clearly been completed to a high specification and there is a good level of cleanliness throughout the property, however, there is a severe fly infestation which only became apparent on our first morning once the heating had turned itself on and the property was quite warm. I was in the room opposite the main bathroom which did have a high concentration of flies that were not only flying around but were on the bed and all over personal belongings. We were also unable to sit and eat comfortably as the kitchen as inundated with flies. The owner sent a child of around 10 years old collect the deposit money to which we refused on several occasions and when owner finally arrived was rude and seemed disinterested in our observations of the flies and other faults by saying she knew all about it. The property could be exceptional if only some time and care was fed back into the property by the owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbietho...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Where the house was lovely and in beautiful surroundings it was ruined by the infestation of flies. They were everywhere, they came out of the shower plug holes and shower head in 2 of the bathrooms. We were unable to eat without being surrounded by flies and definately couldnt leave any food or drink out on tables.
The hot tub didnt work properly and was very high maintenance to get it and keep it heated up. It meant we were unable to explore our surroundings. The hot tub wasnt very clean and because it was heated by fire it meant that we all stank of smome comming from it.
We werent welcomed to the property and when we had an issue we were unable to get in touch with the owners on any of the 3 numbers we had. We therefore missed out on an evening in the hot tub. A young child was sent to collect a deposit from us for the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTGaskell
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed at The Coach House 13-16 Oct and am sad to say I would never go back or recommend to anyone.

We arrived around 4.15pm and within half hour a couple of the party went to get the hot tub going but this proved problematic as they couldn't get the jets going, after the 4 hour wait of the fire burning away underneath it we still had a cold hot tub. We tried to contact the owners for assistance but there was no reply on any number so we left a text message asking for some help, unfortunately we received no reply so this meant we were unable to use the hot tub during our first evening.

The following morning around 9.30ish a young boy around 9 or 10yrs old knocked the door saying he believed we'd had problems with the hot tub and 1 would we like him to set it up and 2 could he have the £100 deposit, we asked him to come back a bit later as people were still in bed and give us chance to get the money together. At this point one of the party went out to watch how he got the jets going and it turns out the jets didn't work and the owners explanation for this was "that's why we advertise it as a hot rub rather than a jacuzzi". A while later the young boy turned up again asking for the deposit (even though the owner who I presume to be his mother was only standing round the corner), we told him we'd like to speak to an adult about a couple of things before we paid the deposit. When she arrived she abruptly pointed out that we should have paid the deposit on arrival, we had to point out to her that as there is more than a couple of properties on the site 1 we didn't know which property the owners lived at, 2 had they answered the phone to us or maybe greeted us on arrival then we could have paid the deposit.

There was dog poo on the path to the front door, the house was absolutely full of flies (and not just a few), the hot tub was dirty with slimey walls and some sort of worm living in there, crusty bogies stuck all over the arm of one of the sofas and a chill out area that was such constant work to keep the fire going that you didn't stand a chance of going out for the day then coming back to use the hot tub. I came home smelling like I'd been round a campfire and this constant smell and smoke made the area rather unpleasant, not to mention how slippy the footing was when it had rained.

All in all it was a very disappointing experience as far as the property goes and I would advise they buy another industrial fly killing machine like the one they have in the kitchen.

Such a shame as the house itself is a great space and didn't feel at all cramped with 9 of us in there, it just needs some care and attention and maybe an electric hot tub/jacuzzi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musicman4...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could not have had a better time, fantastic”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for a week for my wife's birthday with the family, 10 adults in all. The place was even better than we expected. The chill out area is brilliant, we used the sauna and superb jacuzzi hot tub every day, and used the BBQ hut for three BBQ's....amazing. The BBQ hut has a sound bar as well, so we could blue tooth music from phones and the iPads...bonus....
The lounge is lovely and spacious, and the table in the kitchen sat us all with room to spare for the birthday meal...
The bedrooms are beAutifully decked out, really tasteful.
The owners are there if you need them, but you wouldn't know they were there and left us all to enjoy ourselves.
It was the best week we have ever had as a family, would absolutely recommend the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Three families shard a wonderful weekend at the end of April 2017 to celebrate a 40th birthday. The children (4) are aged 7 and 10 and all fully enjoyed the chill out area as well as the local countryside of course. The owners were exceptionally helpful both before our arrival and during our stay - helping us get birthday cakes and candles etc for the occasion. The wood burning stoves in the hot tub and sauna were easy to get going and within a couple of hours both delivered sensational heat and provided hours of relaxation for adults and children alike. The Kota hut with integrated BBQ station was just lovely and cooked our food to perfection.

There were plenty of toys and games for the children in the main house so we needn't have taken our own :-)

We had a food delivery by Waitrose just 20 minutes after our arrival so everything just worked well for us.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend and would love to return sometime to take in more of the beautiful countryside right on the doorstep of the Coach House - if only the kids would entertain the walking....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing