We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little cottage in a lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Silhouette Cottage

Idyllic cottage in a perfect location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Idyllic cottage in a perfect location
View of the cottage from the garden The lawn with picnic table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Idyllic cottage in a perfect location
View of the cottage from the garden
The lawn with picnic table
Sun Trap
Master bedroom with king size bed and dual aspect windows for lovely airy feeling
Well equipped modern kitchen
View from the kitchen
Conservatory leads out onto patio area
The sunny conservatory
conservatory/dining room
The  lounge
Cozy lounge with wood burning fire
Relax infront of a roaring fire
The pond
Bluebells in the local woods
Symond's Yat Rock
Mallards Pike
The Forest of Dean
Monmouth
View across garden and field beyond
Back garden / wooded area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Staunton, Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann J
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just had a week at this beautiful cottage situated within easy reach of local attractions and the nearby town of Monmouth. The cottage is really well equipped and all you can possibly need is provided, even down to a delicious cake left by Michelle to welcome us on arrival. Bedrooms are bright cheery and comfortable with plenty of space, the whole cottage has been decorated to a high standard. The garden is gorgeous and surprisingly quiet given the location near to the road. We took our dog with us and found lovely walks close by plus a very welcoming local pub just a few doors away. Would recommend this as a perfect place to stay if visiting the Forest of Dean/Wye Valley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you Ann for your kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I would love to welcome you back if you decide to visit the area again.
Best wishes Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malteser
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cannot get better”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a splendid week at Silhouette Cottage. Michelle is the perfect host. The cottage is equipped with all one would need - fully equipped kitchen, very comfortable sitting room, power shower, spacious comfy bedrooms and above all a conservatory overlooking an immaculately kept garden. Very quiet surroundings despite the proximity to the main road. Central to a number of attractions with a good pub just next door. Michelle went out of her way to ensure our comfort - she and her daughter cooked a delicious cake which was devoured in no time. Would highly recommend to anyone planning a visit to the Forest of Dean - a place away from it all in tranquility and peace.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julesonto...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Forest of Dean.”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Booking with Michelle was a pleasure, the cottage was not only spotlessly clean but the level of interior decoration was absolutely lovely. Having the mad dog Izzy our Weimaraner with us we needed at least three/four good walks a day within close proximity to keep her happy. No problem, within 2 minutes from the cottage we were in the forest chasing squirrels, her favourite pastime. If you want peace and quiet in an absolutely lovely setting Silhoutte Cottage is a must and you would be foolish not to give it a try. Absolutely recommend, we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you for your glowing review I do hope to see you again in the future. Regards Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stay68993...
1 review
“Warm and comfy cottage with good walks from the door”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Silhouette Cottage is very pretty with a lovely garden and is well equipped. We enjoyed several forest walks. Perfect for a quiet break with Monmouth nearby for a great range of independent shops.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little find!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Don't let the proximity of Silhouette Cottage to the main road put you off, because it is tucked away down its own drive, and we found it really quiet. The cottage is really lovely, so warm , clean, well equipped and cozy. We had everything there we needed and more. We breakfasted in the centrality heated conservatory, and chilled out by the woodburner in the evenings. It was the perfect cottage for our break, with a brilliant pub just yards away too. We were greeted warmly by Michelle the owner on arrival, which I appreciated . I would love to go back in the summer months , and enjoy the lovely garden aswell. Highly recommended....and I'm fussy !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Silhouette & look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing