We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food and service”
Review of Appellation

Appellation
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Marananga
Price range: AU$50 - AU$150
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open to visitors for dinner, Appellation restaurant is recognised as South Australia’s world-class regional dining destination. Window seats and private dining nooks nestle guests as they indulge in a culinary journey of Barossa a la mode. A considered degustation menu reflects the region’s community of winemakers, farmers and growers with fresh produce. The Appellation team presents each dish with its paired wine, creating an overarching, very Barossan culinary story.
Reviewed 22 May 2022

An excellent multi course degustation with plenty of variety, properly spaced and ‘just right’ serve portions. Matching local wines well chosen. Tables nicely spaced and located to provide something for every diner. Comes at a price but worth the investment.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2022

Appellation tour was amazing. Especially appreciated Gary, our tour guide. He was very informative and helpful. He made the day that much more fun.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank bowlingharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2022

This restaurant promises a lot and almost delivers but, on our visit at least, the experience was let down by some disappointments.
THE PROS: Really interesting and inventive menu that mostly succeeds in being delicious as well. My partner has some dietary restrictions and the kitchen subtly modified some of the courses to accommodate these without compromising the dish in any way - probably the best response we've ever experienced. Elegant dining room with high quality tableware and Riedel glassware.
THE CONS: The serving sizes were pretty small - I'm not one of these people who usually complains about not enough to eat in a degustation menu, but here I could imagine many people leaving unsatisfied - I sort of did. Also for me, two of the five courses were not that delicious, which was disappointing since the rest were sensational.
THE BIGGEST CON: I know that restaurants are going through staffing issues post pandemic, but the absence of a Sommelier on the night we went really let down the experience. The wait staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the food courses but could offer no help whatsoever with the comprehensive wine list. We were left floundering and trying to make uninformed choices which we mostly succeeded in doing, but one of the glasses we chose was really unsuitable for the meal, meaning we ordered an alternative immediately. The wait staff couldn't have been less interested in our error, but I guess that isn't their job. Too bad there was no one on the floor doing the job of Sommelier. At a restaurant of this calliber, this is a disappointing omission and seriously diminished what would otherwise have been a 5 star experience.

Date of visit: April 2022
4  Thank RalphS150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2022 via mobile

We dined here during our honeymoon stay at the Louise. We had the degustation and premium wine pairing, both of which were delicious.

The only thing that could be improved here Is a little more training for the staff. The young lady who served us was trying her absolute best, but yelling what food was on our plate at us so that everyone in the restaurant was turning to us (honestly - it was quite funny as she was sweet but my goodness)!

The sommelier/wine pairer wasn’t overly engaged and didn’t seem to be overly enthused about our presence. May just be a bit shy.

Date of visit: April 2022
1  Thank mrsteddyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2022

We were on the waiting list to get in on a Friday evening and were lucky to be called at 3 in the afternoon to confirm a table for two.

On our arrival we were greeted by a charming gentleman and shown to our table just in time to see the sun setting.

We were informed by our young waitress that they did not produce a menu unless requested as they liked an element of surprise. We thought what the heck and ordered a bottle of Deviation Road bubbles. We were told that the meal set at $125 per hour could have an additional first course, or last course. We choose the first course and had savoury madelines with sourcream and chives and sturgeon caviar. To be honest I don't know which was our favourite... every bite was exquisite. Certainly the food pairings were completely at odds of every day food but the chef must have a very refined palate as nothing we have had compares to what sublime food we tasted. At $125 a head it is more than a fair price the only surprise being that the madelines were $30 per serve. Could not fault one thing. Congratulations to the whole team

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FussyBugger1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Appellation also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Appellation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.