We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Appellation

Appellation
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Marananga
Price range: AU$50 - AU$150
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open to visitors for dinner, Appellation restaurant is recognised as South Australia’s world-class regional dining destination. Window seats and private dining nooks nestle guests as they indulge in a culinary journey of Barossa a la mode. A considered degustation menu reflects the region’s community of winemakers, farmers and growers with fresh produce. The Appellation team presents each dish with its paired wine, creating an overarching, very Barossan culinary story.
Reviewed 6 April 2022 via mobile

We dined here during our honeymoon stay at the Louise. We had the degustation and premium wine pairing, both of which were delicious.

The only thing that could be improved here Is a little more training for the staff. The young lady who served us was trying her absolute best, but yelling what food was on our plate at us so that everyone in the restaurant was turning to us (honestly - it was quite funny as she was sweet but my goodness)!

The sommelier/wine pairer wasn’t overly engaged and didn’t seem to be overly enthused about our presence. May just be a bit shy.

Date of visit: April 2022
1  Thank mrsteddyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2022

We were on the waiting list to get in on a Friday evening and were lucky to be called at 3 in the afternoon to confirm a table for two.

On our arrival we were greeted by a charming gentleman and shown to our table just in time to see the sun setting.

We were informed by our young waitress that they did not produce a menu unless requested as they liked an element of surprise. We thought what the heck and ordered a bottle of Deviation Road bubbles. We were told that the meal set at $125 per hour could have an additional first course, or last course. We choose the first course and had savoury madelines with sourcream and chives and sturgeon caviar. To be honest I don't know which was our favourite... every bite was exquisite. Certainly the food pairings were completely at odds of every day food but the chef must have a very refined palate as nothing we have had compares to what sublime food we tasted. At $125 a head it is more than a fair price the only surprise being that the madelines were $30 per serve. Could not fault one thing. Congratulations to the whole team

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FussyBugger1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

We ate 2 nights in a row to celebrate my 60th.

We have eaten at some of the top restaurants around the world and rate this as one of the best.

We had the degustation both nights with paired wines.

Chefs, waiters and sommelier were outstanding. Professional but friendly.

The vibe of the restaurant and hotel is relaxed but first class.

Bravo and thank you. We look forward to the next time.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank 514grahamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2022

We had the degustation. Half the plates were excellent. Half were such awkward matchings of ingredients, I wondered if the cook had covid. There were some good whiskeys to be had, and my friends liked a couple of the wines. They agreed that they would prefer to choose their own wines, rather than have someone else match them to the food.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R2685QKpaulw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2022 via mobile

A weeks holiday exploring the Barossa Valley ended with an amazing meal experience at Appellation. Escorted to a window seat in the stylish dining room we enjoyed dinner overlooking the vineyards and watched the many colours of the night sky as the sun went down . Service was impeccable and the multiple courses which comprised the degustation were stunning, all filled with flavours that reflected produce found in the Barossa. Recommended

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank galavanterAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Appellation also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Appellation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.