We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View of City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We went to San Jose to do some work on our Pensionada Status and we stayed here one night the receptionist was very nice and very knowledgeble of the area, gave us directions to ge passport pictures very accurate. The rooms were very nice and the Tico breakfast was very refreshing. I would reccomend this place very highly. Pura Vida

Room Tip: All rooms had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel Posada Canal Grande was a GREAT place to start off our vacation in Costa Rica.

The staff was also GREAT. Eliza (Elizabeth) is truly one of the best we've people we've encountered in our travels, and she saved the day when we left a bag on the chair while checking out. When we called from the airport, she quickly arranged for a taxi to bring the bag to us, and 30 minutes later we had our bag.

The location is much more convenient to the airport than downtown San Jose, yet not right on top of the airport itself. A taxi ride to the hotel ran appr. $25, and give yourself at least 45 minutes to an hour to get to the airport when departing due to traffic.

The staff who prepared our breakfast each morning were very nice (very little english), but made us feel right at home.

The rooms are a bit dated, but comfortable and clean. Bring your own shampoo!

We also enjoyed the hotel Resturant the first night we arrived in Costa Rica, and our last night before leaving. There were only a few people in the restaurant each night we dined there, but the wait staff was very nice and very attentive (but knew limited English). Food was great too, but on the expensive side (as is most everything in Costa Rica).

Thank you Posada Canal Grande!

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor. Noise in the bottom level rooms was excessive from people upstairs. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rpp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We spent our first night here before going on to Nosara. We wanted to spend our last night here but the hotel was booked. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was excellent. The view was great and the location was safe. I would not recccomend traveling without a gps.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doodles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was a great hotel on the outskirts of San Jose. I would definitely recommend it for your first or last day on CR. Great people, great breakfast, great price! English is not great and Wi-fi was readily accessible.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank tourist2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

In this relaxing hotel surrounded by nature, I found a particular, rare and unique hospitality and welcome, a warm greeting to our friend Marco, correct and is an expert in the country, Elizabeth .. pure energy at the highest level, and Ramona Heiner always available and smiling.
Here, if you want, you can feel truly sincere vibrations, relax and enjoy the peace, thanks muchachos
A big hug

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank chicco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
3.6 km away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
998 reviews
3.6 km away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
582 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
4.1 km away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
579 reviews
9.0 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Santa Ana

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: $31 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing