We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Auberge A ma Facon(Kokonoe-machi)
USD 570
USD 528
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Hotel Daikogen(Kokonoe-machi)
USD 150
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Ryokan 
Fukumotoya(Kokonoe-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ryokan 
Ryokan Shugetsu(Kokonoe-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hanasansui(Kokonoe-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Daikokuya(Kokonoe-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Auberge Cosmosso(Kokonoe-machi)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Kinosato Yamanoyu(Kokonoe-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
22
15
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
15
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgardensizeaccommodationbedroomspringbreakfastviewryokan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

This ryokan is one of the top 5 I have visited in Japan thus far, and I have been to well over 100. The rooms are well appointed, well designed, and are a mixture of rustic, traditional, and modern.

The fusion of several time periods and genres flows smoothly throughout the entire facility.

Room: Ai. This room was the size of a small home and came with a garden, yard, a pavilion, and a traditional rotenburo. The private ofuro (bath) opened to a view of the yard and garden and allowed direct access outdoors onto the deck in thr backyard.

The private rotenburo and ofuro were simply amazing. We enjoyed the light, yet filling breakfast and specifically the positive energy of the staff.

A+ grade :). Good for Families, Couple, or for solo travelers.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

stayed back in mar as part of our honeymoon.

lovely big room and big toilet. the hot spring bath (more like a plunge pool) was huge and comfortable. it's not exactly open air but the ventilation was so good that it was abit too cold to bathe beside the hot spring pool. both the hot spring pool and our room have a lovely view of mt aso. i'm so glad that we got a good view on the day we arrived, but the next day mt aso was covered in fog!

we had the 'Grass' room and had an italian dinner included. italian dinner which was a 5mins walk away was really yummy! fine dinning-ish with a great atmosphere!

if there is anything that could be improved would be having a covered linkway from the rooms to the main hall, we got wet because we didn't have an umbrella. and lastly the breakfast can really be improved. the amount of food was way too little.

will definitely stay again if i visit mt aso area. really lovely retreat!

Room Tip: choose a room with the view of mt aso - definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peacex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
スパグリネス, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Spa Greenness, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback.
We apologize on our hospilitality during your stay and we will improve.
Please let us know if you need any assistance (such as breakfast refill or umbrellas or other matters) on your next visit.
We will try to fulfill all our guests' needs.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

The location is a bit far from any cities, but extremely quiet with bush all around this accommodation.
I'm staying at the farest room which is spacious. And the personal hot spring is in underground.
Unfortunately, the Japanese restaurant is only serve for very limited size of people and this need advance reservation (which I missed it as I need to drive about 4km~6km away to look for restaurant & convenient store).

Room Tip: Most of rooms are good, but try to pick the farest one which can see both front and back (bush).
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin-Cheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This is the perfect place for honeymooners and couples looking for a quiet place to relax. No noisy kids running around. The place is tended by a few men and you feel like you are in an english place served by butlers. There a few cottage-like accommodation and the whole area is very immaculately well-kept. There is a private onsen in each room which you can use anytime and the view from the room is perfect.
Please wake up early to see the sunrise and hear the birds chirping in the morning from the room.
Breakfast is in the restaurant and the table setting is very carefully done by the waiter/owner who makes sure nothing is out of place. We relax and have our breakfast with soft music in the background and the view of the garden outside.
Perfect.
The only thing you have to take note of is you have to make your own bed in the night ie move the futon from the closet and lay and cover them with sheets. Fortunately, I stayed at a ryokan the previous night and observed how the sheets were tucked in.
There is a beautiful cafe Chez Tani serving delicious cakes and coffee/tea located just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mizu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The Spa Greenness was a real treat and the Ai-Unit that we stayed in was perfectly layed out with Outside- and Inside-Pool and a spacious Living Room that turned into a bedroom for the night. Breakfast was very good and plenty - for the evening meal you could choose from different options and we can highly recommend the french restaurant "A ma façon".

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina53Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews