We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
50
76
24
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
76
24
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedfemale guestsroom facilitiesnice beachthe hotel staffjapanese style roomshirahama beachonsen hotelsleepingluggagefloorstationbalconytowelstaxidinneryukata
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed at 9th floor with private onsen and stunning sea view especially during sunset hours. Car parking was free. They served us sumptuous dinner and breakfast in our room which was satisfying. Menu could be fine tuned if needed. Staff are super nice and helpful.

Room Tip: choose rooms with private onsen and sea view, it worths the money
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
しらら, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Sanrakuso, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear PL C,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at our Hotel Sanrakuso.
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful experience in Shirahama.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in near future.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you again for taking your time for the review.

Best regards,
Hotel Sanrakuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

My husband and I spent one night in Hotel Sanrakuso during our stay in Shirahama in early August. I must say this is one of the best onsen hotel experience we have ever been had!! Highly recommended!!

Hotel: Thr hotel is located right in front of the Shirahama Beach. Public buses are run by Meiko, and you can take bus No. 12 at the Shirahama Station and get off station No. 16 which is right outside the hotel. Bus travelling time is about 15 minutes. Meiko have other buses running to various tourist attractions in Shirahama. So don't forget to get a bus schedule at the Shirahama Station. Alternatively, the hotel also offer free shuttle services running to and from Shirahama Station. Schedules didn't match ours so we chose to travel by public bus. Reservation is required for hotel free shuttle service.

Hotel check-in time is 15:00, but you can drop your luggages at the reception if you arrive early, and they will simply take them to your room direct. Staff will also ask you to do pre-registation, so that when you come back at/after 15:00, they can take you to your room immediately. Alternatively, one can ask Shirahama Station staff to take your luggages to the hotel (around 200yen per luggage).

There are 9 floors in total. The public onsen (2 types) and souvenir shop are on 2/F; restaurant is on 5/F. Rooms with in-room onsen are located on 8/F and 9/F. Check-out time is 10am.

As Shirahama Beach is located right in front of the hotel, many hotel guests enjoy swimming and having a nice walk on the beach during the day. You can also play fireworks on the beach at night (before 23:00)!! Don't forget to ask staff for a lighter and a small bucket of water before you go!

Room: We chose a Japanese style room on the 9/F with in-room onsen. Deco is a bit dated but in good fit. Everything is very clean without dust. Otari is our housekeeper and she did a very good job in showing the room facilities to us in great details and in English (we do not speak Japanese). Nice green tea and snacks were also offered upon our arrival. The room is very spacious and equipped with various necessities, including mini fridge, kettle, mini safe, free wifi, hair dryer, comb, face mask and lotion, shower cap, cotton pad and cotton rods, etc.. The in-room onsen was well setup when we arrived. Onsen running from tap is 70 degrees. They did a good job in adjusting it to around 40 degrees for guests to enjoy right upon arrival.

The onsen tub is very big and located on the balcony, where you can enjoy the sea/beach view while relaxing. You can open the windows on the balcony to enjoy the summer breeze as well.

The shampoo, conditioner and shower gel all smell very good. They use plums grown in Shirahama in making them. What a wonderful experience for guests to try out Shirahama products!

Yukata are offered in the room (3 sizes). The hotel also offers many colourful yukata for female guests to wear during they stay (if one doesn't like plain ones in the room).

The hotel staff will help setup beddings on the tatami floor in the room right after dinner. Sound-proofing is also good in the room and basically we didn't hear any noise from corridor/other rooms/street. We had a very sound sleep at night. Beddings and pillows are very comfortable.

Meal: Otari served kaiseki dinner in our room. The food was very delicious. It was a very enjoyable meal. Breakfast was served in the restaurant on 5/F. There were lots of food served in buffet style, including Japanese traditional dishes and western dishes.

All in all, this is a very good hotel in terms of facilities, in-room onsen, meal and view. There are lots of sight-seeing spots in Shirahama which are easier accessible by public buses (The Tore-tore market is a must-go where one can enjoy BBQ fresh seafood!!). It was a very enjoyable and wonderful stay for us, and we will definitely come back in the near future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Must choose top floor (9/F) for the best view at the beach, in-room onsen and in-room kaiseki
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vwyfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
しらら, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Sanrakuso, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear vwyfung,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at our Hotel Sanrakuso.
We are glad to know that you had a very enjoyable and wonderful stay in Shirahama.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in near future.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you again for taking your time for the review.

Best regards,
Hotel Sanrakuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

They have normal Japanese style rooms on lower floor, which the amenities and toilet facilities are not very good. I would recommend the top floor Japanese style rooms with in room onsen (hot spring). It has a private wooden tub at the balcony of the room, overlooking the beautiful Shirahama Beach. And the room facilities, decorations, amenities are upgraded quite a lot. If I'm coming again will just stay at the top floor only.

Room Tip: Top floor room with in room private Onsen
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Upon entry to the hotel, the carpet had water stains that have accumulated over the years. Overall the condition of the lobby was not grand, like laforet, if that is what you are after. Going to the room, the hall had wallpaper that was peeling and the air was very hot (no A/C on). Inside, the room was fine with a nice ocean facing view. The balcony wasn't very good because the paint was cracking and I guess hard to clean the floor there.

Access was fine to everywhere in Shirahama though.

Room Tip: high floor, room 10-16 better view.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

It was my first time trying Japanese style hotel and it was very nice experience, i enjoyed my staying there, the stuff are super friendly and they make an effort to speak english, the room was comfortable and cool and i had a beach view which was just awesome. I will come back to this hotel in the future.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Rip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews