We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
83
33
12
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
33
12
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tofu worthwhile experience mount koya authentic experience buddhist temple vegetarian toilet monk morning japan inns osaka washbasin mattresses vegetables
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Had a magical stay. High in the mountain fresh air. Beautiful gardens and scenery. The building itself was gorgeous with fantastic artwork throughout. The staff were so friendly and lovely. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. The futon was comfy - we even had a memory foam mattress. And waking up to the view of the surrounding gardens and mountains was spectacular.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fitzcarraldogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Spending a night at Jimyo-in was an experience of a different world. In spring it was cold - we were glad of the heater under the table and the kerosene heater for the room. Definitely chilly heading down the corridor to the shared bathrooms. However, it was wonderful staying in such a tranquil, beautiful and traditional environment.
Your food is served in your room and is a vegetarian (vegan?) spread, served on raised trays. Up early in the morning for prayers before breakfast.
Koya-san is slightly complicated to get to, but well worth the effort and we definitely enjoyed our night at Jimyo-in.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pHzahBKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here a few days ago and enjoyed the entire visit. My family spent one night and the temple is easy to access near to the number 8 bus stop. During our visit there were very few other guests (mid-week). There are a few monks who speak English and a few who only speak Japanese. The room was large and had a nice view of the garden. The food was good and when I asked the monk what the food was he did explain it all. They did hold our luggage after we checked out. The rooms do have air conditioning. The rooms don't have bathrooms and the shared bathrooms were clean.

We did attend morning prayers and they lasted about 30 minutes and were conducted by two priests. They did ask that you show up at 6:20 to attend the prayers. When we got back to our room our breakfast was waiting. Breakfast and dinner are served to you in your room.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank GMack73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We had stayed at another temple in Koyasan prior to coming to Jimyoin. They were priced very similarly. In comparison, the rooms in Jimyoin were larger and they provided a nice balcony sitting space with garden views. You were also provided with full sized towels along with the modesty towels.

The meals were served in the privacy of the room rather than communal dining. The food quality was similar at both temples and consisted of the usual tofu, miso, rice and pickled veg. The beds were average in terms of being comfortable and the pillows small and hard.

The morning prayer service ran from 6:30-7am and this was done by one monk. Like everything else, it was also very similar to the neighbouring temple (although the other had two monks and ran for an hour).

Overall, I do not think there is a huge difference in experience in temples based on trying two. If you were staying more than one night- I would recommend trying different temples as it was fun to see how these operated so similarly!

Whilst you stay in the temple, other than my own reading I did (books provided in room), just by being there, I did not really learn much about the daily life of a monk. It would be great if the temples ran information sessions or Q/A sessions…. more information in English would be fabulous (for those who cannot master Japanese)!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Letthemeatdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2016

There are over 50 temples that accept overnight guests, so it's hard to narrow down a choice. I chose this one from the reviews here (and for its nearness to the cemetery) and wasn't disappointed. We spent two nights in a room on the main floor across from the shared bathroom, with a great view of one of the gardens and the hills behind us. The shared bath was great, the food unusual and delicious. The dinner on day 2 was not the same as on day 1, so you won't get a repeat. Other reviewers point out that it's all vegan - 1000 ways with tofu - but the monks also don't use spices either, so it's on the bland side. Still, it's filling and unconventional. If you want predictable, familiar meals, you won't like staying in a temple.

The sutra chanting at 6:30 AM was fascinating - we had two monks the first day and one the second. It's not flashy but it is worth attending, especially because they need us guests our of our rooms so they can fold up our futons and prepare for our breakfasts. Even it April it was cold in the temple, so dress warmly. My down jacket still smells like incense.

We didn't have a sink in our room as someone else mentioned. I thought the futon was thick enough for comfort but I hate those pillows one finds in ryokans and elsewhere: small squares filled only with some kind of chopped up plastic straws. I ended up folding one of the seat cushions in half and wrapping my down jacket around it before stuffing it in the pillowcase instead.

If you've got western-sized feet, the one-size indoor slippers won't fit you. I think the monks secretly get a kick out of watching us do the shuffle-hop-walk to try to keep them on our feet. And don't forget to switch them for the toilet slippers (in 50s pink for women) and especially don't wear the toilet slippers back out in the hall.

The monks are very kind but as others pointed out, it's not really set up to be an educational experience in Shingon Buddhism for the guests, but an inn.

They accept credit cards for payment. Good thing, because we had prepaid all our other 7 hotels but forgot that this was not prepaid. Also, no internet here but go to the TI in the center of town and you'll have access.

Access to the cemetery is about a 10 min walk. We visited at length in the afternoon and again at night, which is a worthwhile experience. It was foggy that evening and added to the mysterious flavor. Perfectly safe - lanterns are lit along the path and there are others also walking there.

We almost chose to skip Koya-san because it's a bit complicated to get to on public transit, but it turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the trip.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Geoviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews