We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Takaragawa Onsen Osenkaku
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Minakamikan(Minakami-machi)
USD 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Hoshi Onsen Chojukan(Minakami-machi)
USD 316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Sarugakyo Hotel(Minakami-machi)
USD 256
USD 156
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minakami Kogen Hotel 200(Minakami-machi)
USD 257
USD 122
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 228
USD 163
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokan Tanigawa(Minakami-machi)
USD 335
USD 318
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kamimoku Onsen Tatsumikan(Minakami-machi)(Great Value!)
USD 218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matsunoi Hotel(Minakami-machi)
USD 281
USD 172
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Syoubun(Minakami-machi)
USD 489
USD 285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
USD 297
USD 238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
201
157
64
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
157
64
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmixed gendertakaragawa onsenday triphot springssoupthe rivertrain stationfree shuttlemain buildingchanging roomsbear meattatami matssmall cagesshuttle servicebuffet breakfastbeautiful surroundingsforeign tourists
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Superb mixed onsen (which is super rare), you can easily access from Tokyo thinking well to take their free shuttle!

Lost in the middle of the mountains, you will have the right to beautiful outdoor baths along the river day and night, all in a comfortable hotel. The Japanese style room is very spacious and comfortable and a traditional dinner will be served there. Once the meal is over, we will install your futons (it is above all a ryokan!).

A very beautiful place!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Samvenere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

This is my second time to visit Takaragawa Onsen ; I drove a car to the hotel which is easy from Tokyo. Hotel is so beautiful with outdoor onsen. staff are friendly. If you love natural and antique...this hotel is ready to serve you.

Room Tip: hotel with river view is so beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Puaypuay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

this was our last pit stop in japan where we thoroughly enjoyed. didnt even get bored in spending time inside the onsen most of the time. it was a great experience with the onsen. took some time to get comfortable with the temperature of the hot spring.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sneha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

This place was like a dream, or a perfect film... We were lucky and had snow on the night we stayed there so that when we woke up in the morning and the sun was rising, we had the most beautiful view ever! The outdoor onsen are perfect and once in, it's difficult to come out. The place is very well organised and an enchantment. Very close (1h45 from Tokyo) and easy to reach, it's the perfect place to stay to have of an experience of a lifetime. We will go back next time we go to Japan and I highly recommend anyone spending some time in Tokyo to go there.

Room Tip: The annex is best for the price
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

My nephew (who lives in Japan) discovered this place accidentally a few years back and apparently he and his friends come here every year. For my first Japan visit which also coincided with my birthday, he booked this place for my birthday. We drove from Yokohama to this Ryokan in what I was told is the Japanese Alps. The hotel is nestled in mountains far from any big town or city. It's right on the banks of fast moving Takaraga stream. There are four hot springs (one reserved for women and the remaining three mixed gender) along the banks of the stream. It was cold (for folks like us who live in warmer tropical climes) at 0C to -3C in the middle of the night. The fall colors were amazing. The steam coming out of the hot springs added to the mysterious atmosphere. We had booked one room for one night for five adults. The room was big enough. The attached toilet and the shower room were separate which I thought was convenient. The shower room was Japanese style with a shower area and a soak tub. The toilet had the usual Japanese extras like a heated seat. It came with separate slippers (red) which you are not supposed to use outside the toilet. The rooms were a bit dated but that wasn't a problem for us. There were additional public bathrooms on each floor. Supplies provided included razors, tooth brush and paste. The closet also had a safe, When we checked in, we got to select a Yukata and an extra jacket (as it was cold). We also needed to leave our shoes in the lobby and wear slippers provided by the hotel. We wore the Yukata and slippers in the room and hotel premises (including the dining room) and the bath areas. While going to the external baths, wooden slippers were provided. We had dinner and a buffet breakfast. There was plenty of food but be warned that if you are not into Japanese food, you may not be able to enjoy all the dishes. The staff in the dining room were polite. While we had dinner, hotel staff prepared our very comfortable Tatami beds in the hotel room. We did not use the indoor baths. We used the outdoor baths (mixed gender) and all of us fell in love with this place. We went for our first dip after dinner and there was no one around and we had the baths to ourselves. The rushing stream cascading down the rocks, a night sky lit up with stars, half a moon and the steaming bath waters worked like magic. The baths were dimly lit adding to the atmosphere. We again took a dip around midnight. Strangely there were more people in the baths at this time than earlier. We rounded up our experience by relaxing in the baths early in the morning with fall colors surrounding us and the warm sun rays piercing through the cool, crisp air. The fact that the three baths are mixed gender is good for couples and families as you can relax with your better half and family members. Women do get to wear a small bathing suit but men only get a small modesty towel to be used while climbing in or out (you are not supposed to put it in the baths). We did get covered parking which was free, This is not a luxury resort. It is a bit rustic and dated. The setting, the scenery, the mixed gender baths are the highlights of this hotel. If we ever get a chance, we will visit this place once again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for river facing rooms
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dakku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews