We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Ryokan Tanigawa(Minakami-machi)
USD 362
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
USD 247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hoshi Onsen Chojukan(Minakami-machi)
USD 418
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Minakamikan(Minakami-machi)
USD 274
USD 234
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Sarugakyo Hotel(Minakami-machi)
USD 256
USD 197
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Chalet La Neige(Minakami-machi)
USD 149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 355
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
USD 256
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Yumoto Choseikan(Minakami-machi)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
201
157
66
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
157
66
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstakaragawa onsenmixed gendersouphot springsday tripthe rivertrain stationfree shuttlemain buildingchanging roomsbear meatshuttle servicetatami matsbuffet breakfastbeautiful surroundingsopen hourspork
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely ryokan for only one night during our trip across Japan. But it was a highlight of the journey, for sure! Even though the ryokan is located in a remote mountain area, it is not too hard to get there. From Tokyo we took the Shinkansen to Jomo-Kogen, which takes about an hour. Then we were picked up by the ryokan's free shuttle bus. The bus ride to Takaragawa Onsen takes about 50 minutes and is very convenient. After you finally arrive at Takaragawa, the only thing you have to do is relax and enjoy the picturesque surroundings. The outdoor onsen next to the mountain stream is simply amazing and particularly beautiful in autumn when all the leaves are turning colourful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

1 hour train ride from tokyo and a 40 minute bus to the Hotel/Onsen (free pickup) brings you to this magic place.

The onsens are powered by natural hot springs and special since you can share with your loved ones at the same time.

There is a women only onsen as well. Noticed a fair number of honeymoon couples during my two stay including mother and daughters however not many single people which is a good thing.

Guys get to use a small hand towel to enter the onsen but nothing else so not much room to hide much !! However the women need to wear a brown slip which in some ways probably isnt that fair compared to the guys but understand the need.

Its funny at this onsen was fully nude many years ago looking at the old photos around.

I would prefer if one onsen (there are 3 mixed currently) was fully nude and the other two as in at the moment.

The food was great especially the dinner service.

Great place cant wait to go back one day !

Room Tip: book early to get the rooms overlooking the river
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Our stay at Takaragawa was exceptional. The price is steep, but we thought that it was completely worth it. You will not find a more gorgeous rotenburo. Especially in the fall! The colors were truly breathtaking. We spent several hours in the outside baths and left feeling completely rejuvenated after a week in Tokyo.
The pickup from JomoKogen station was prompt and efficient. The check in process was smooth and our room was clean and had everything we needed. The food was pretty good, nothing outstanding, but we enjoyed it. There's mostly only Japanese selections for dinner, but breakfast had Western foods as well (granola, yogurt, eggs, etc).
Would highly recommend this place for an overnight getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Azure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The main reason for us to stay in this hotel is we wanted to try the outdoor river Onsen.

The room we stayed is in the east building. The condition is dated but acceptable. Only the toilet area was not clean with urine smell. After we settled down in the room, we headed to the river Onsen. This hotel is quite big, we need to cross a bridge and quite a long walk before we reached the women river Onsen. On the way there, we pass by the mixed Onsen, there are both man and woman there. For the woman Onsen is right at the end. The water temperate has been just right, not too hot, we enjoyed our time there.

For the food, both dinner and breakfast are poor, but the black sesame chocolate ball sell in the hotel gift shop is very delicious and highly recommended to give it a try!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CKP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Stunning location! The ryokan is rather tired, rooms are OK, warm and comfortable. Was disappointed with the ‘cafeteria’ type service; that said, the dining room was fine and the food OK. The onsen was fabulous particularly with the fast flowing review flowing through the middle. Would love to visit in the Winter with snow on the ground! Staff are friendly and most speak English.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank trevor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews