We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Address Nozawa(Nozawaonsen-mura)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nozawa Grand Hotel(Nozawaonsen-mura)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen(Nozawaonsen-mura)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kawaichiya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nakajimaya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ryokan 
Nozawa View Hotel Shimataya(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Shikinoyado Kawahiro(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wafu Pension Miyazawa(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Fujiyoshi(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
6
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationmoving walkwayshort walkbradkabukiteppanyakiheatingsleephostsbedsfloortownjapanskinozawalodge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Tanuki for 2 weeks on Feb/March. The place well exceeded all our expectations! Tanuki is located in the heart of town, only a short walk from the mountain lifts, and within a stoned throw from more delicious eateries than I could count.
We spent the first week is a traditional Japanese room, which was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed (including wifi and Apple TV!). We then spent the next week in one of the apartments which was just beyond luxury!

Amazing cooked to order breakfast and coffee/hot beverages were provided every morning. The restaurant and Tepanyaki bar in the complex are a must-do. There is also a great bar which often has live music just downstairs.

Overall, the quality and convenience was exceptional , and the lodge managers (English and Japanese speaking) were hugely helpful with anything we needed. Will definitely stay again!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Stylish and well designed, the apartment had everything you could need for a great holiday experience. It is unusual to find truly self catering accomodation with a western stye kitchen in Japan. As with most people in Nozawa during January, we were there to ski, but what set the accommodation apart from other options we have stayed in on previous visits to Nozawa was the large open plan kitchen/dining/lounge room with views, which is priceless when you are not skiing or need a day off to relax or recover for a ski injury!

Everything was on our doorstep: onsens, restaurants, coffee shop, bar, supermarket, pharmacy... yet within the apartment it was quiet and peaceful. The hosts were amazing and very helpful in all respects. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluechook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

When in Japan, I usually get the sense that the Japanese people take features of other cultures and enhance them, making them more gorgeous than ever. Tanuki Apartments are a little bit of Australia doing the reverse. Japanese style has been architecturally enhanced to perfection, giving an authentic Japanese experience with all the mod cons including bidet toilets (that clean themselves), dual head showers, under floor heating, entertaining kitchen, cosy fireplace and most importantly beds that are so comfortable, sleep is instantaneous (might also have something to do with that famous Nozawa powder snow that never disappoints). Tanuki's location is wonderfully central, close to the ski area escalator, onsens and restaurants but it is really not necessary to leave the building. There is a great bar with live music in the basement and 2 other floors of incredible restaurants plus great drying room facilities. We were a large group of 11 and there was plenty of space for all of us, plus a clever flexible layout to accommodate smaller groups. It's pretty hard to fault the Tanuki apartments and our tiniest concern of inadequate bathroom lighting has apparently already been dealt with by the super efficient hosts Brad and Yumi. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Tanuki Apartments and Lodge are under same management
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

This is the perfect accommodation in a great village that's really well set up for skiing. Its a really cool, recently renovated place right in the centre of everything and only about 100 metres from the moving walkway that takes you to the ski field. Three of us shared a comfortable, spacious room with great beds. Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant also serves delicious dinners. Brad and Yumi made us feel very welcome and were incredible hosts who went above and beyond the call of duty to help us.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Loved this place. We were 7 adults and 4 children staying in the newly renovated 4 bedroom apartment which was very attractive and well situated in the charming Nozawa Village right opposite an onsen and a short walk to the moving walkway to the ski lifts. Brad and Yumi were very helpful with advice and bookings for lessons, lifts, snow bus, tour to the Snow Monkeys and restaurants including those in attached to the apartments.
Both the cafe downstairs and the Teppanyaki were delicious as was the breakfast..
Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank 3Mingara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews