We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise ”
Review of Sharaku

Sharaku
Ranked #31 of 269 Restaurants in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 53
Description: 'Sharaku' features the best of the local Shinshu produce; fresh seafood from the Japan Sea, Mountain Vegetables, Hakuba Pork, Shinshu Salmon and more, providing the ultimate balance of contemporary Japanese cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: 'Sharaku' features the best of the local Shinshu produce; fresh seafood from the Japan Sea, Mountain Vegetables, Hakuba Pork, Shinshu Salmon and more, providing the ultimate balance of contemporary Japanese cuisine.
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

As we where staying at the hotel this restaurant is situated in we thought we would give it a try and so glad we did. Tapas style serving that was great to share and so so tasty. Soft tasty pork belly, beef udon noodles and fresh salmon sushi washed down with a nice warm saki .. service was great

Thank mick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharakuHakuba, Manager at Sharaku, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear mick h,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Chef Nakazato and his team take a lot of pride in each dish they serve and we're thrilled that you enjoyed this seasons menu. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sharaku. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly on sharaku@hakubahotelgroup.com upon your return.

Kind regards,

Sachi Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2018

At here several times since staying in the hotel. Not particularly cheap but most food in Japan is not cheap. The selection was great so even though we ate here a lot we had different dishes each time and they were all very good. Staff and décor were great, typical minimalist Japanese but all in all very good.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharakuHakuba, Manager at Sharaku, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear David H,

Thank you for taking the time to share some words about your recent dinner at Sharaku Restaurant. We are so please to hear that you enjoyed this seasons menu, ambience and service. Please contact me directly on sharaku@hakubahotelgroup.com upon your next visit. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Sachi Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here to celebrate our engagement that happened hours earlier on the mountain. We were prepared for it to be on the expensive side but thought it was a little light on, on the portion side.
Mainly for the sashimi, which is between 300-500 yen per piece. The pork belly and gyoza’s are amazing though.
Worth it for a treat but not great value for money

Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharakuHakuba, Manager at Sharaku, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sharaku restaurant.

I am so disappointed and surprised to hear of your underwhelming experience regarding our price point. Chef Nakazato is extremly passionate about his food and strives on showcasing this countries incredible produce and rich ingredients which is why we only source the best seafood from around Japan.

Please contact me directly on sharaku@hakubahotelgroup.com as I would love to hear a few more details about your time with us and discuss how we can make up for any lapse in expectations.

Warm regards,

Sachi Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Set up was very westernized. If you are a westerner, you’d enjoy this restaurant. As an avid Japanese diner, most of the food was westernized. Service was not too bad though.

Thank Aileen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharakuHakuba, Manager at Sharaku, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Aileen ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Sharaku restaurant.

Our entire team was disheartened to read of your underwhelming Sharaku dining experience. Please be assured that this experience is not a reflection of the product that we strive for, and favored by so many; both Japanese locals and visitors alike. Given the location of Sharaku restaurant, we do offer a number of Japanese ‘western friendly dishes’, however were particularly concerned that as a Japanese national you were unable to find any of our many authentic Japanese menu items.

To assist us improve, Head Chef Nakazato San and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to obtain a few further constructive details. Please reach out to me directly at sharaku@hakubahotelgroup.com with the best mode of contact to give us the opportunity to contact you directly.

Thank you for your precious time in advance and assisting us take Sharaku restaurant to even further heights.

Warm regards,

Sachi Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Larger sized restaurant so you shouldn't have to wait for a table. The food was very good quality but the most outstanding would be the pork belly meal.

Thank Mads111333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharakuHakuba, Manager at Sharaku, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Mads111333,

Thank you for sharing your review of Sharaku restaurant following your recent visit to Hakuba. Your comments regarding Sharaku are very kind and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience on the evening and our infamous Kakuni Pork Belly.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Sachi Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharaku also viewed

Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 

Been to Sharaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing