We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Japanese restaurant in Hakuba”
Review of Izakaya Hie

Izakaya Hie
Ranked #16 of 279 Restaurants in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This place is lovely and quite vegetarian and vegan friendly. Some staff speak english and its worth booking during peak season as its always busy.

Food is delicious, service is great.

Only drawback is the smoking in the restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MelHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2016

Traditional Japanese at its best, could not believe the price was so low, and a cosy little interior, a must visit.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank gordon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

The food here was simply Devine. There was a group of us and we ordered several different plates to share and could not fault any of them. The food was reasonably priced and came out very quickly. I wished we ate here more than once! Recommend to everyone

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We love this place for its vibe and also the delicious dishes that go so well with the very affordable local sake on the menu! We tried quite a few items on the menu e.g. Tuna, yellowtail, salmon sashimi, striped jack sushi, chicken thigh, minced chicken meatball and gizzard skewers, lettuce and mizuna salad, fried chicken, fried chicken wing, roasted avocado, baked grated yam and leek, butter corn. These are all very delicious. My personal favourite is the fried chicken wings and fried chicken, best ones we've had in Hakuba! The roasted avocado is also very interesting and special as you don't normally find this dish in other restaurants. Some of the dishes are so good we ordered them again.

Similar to most other Hakuba restaurants, this place is small and it fills up fast so you must book if you come in a group. Service is pretty efficient given such a small place it is. Price is pretty reasonable too given we drank quite a bit of sake and ordered a lot of food, about JPY3500 per person.

Just a point to note as I saw some negative reviews regarding the small portion dishes etc. This is a Japanese izakaya restaurant meaning that you are intending to drink quite a bit of either sake or beer if you plan to come to this place. It also means that the dishes are meant to be small as they are designed to eat with your drinks, and you are supposed to order a variety of them to share among your group. If you are used to the western style of eating where each person order their own dish, this is NOT the place for it. Also, this is not a restaurant specialising in sushi or sashimi so please check out other restaurants such us Kikyo-ya if that's what you want.

All in all, we love Izakaya Hie and would definitely come back if we have the chance!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank kiyan_tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

We went to this restaurant on a recommendation - and were left feeling underwhelmed and hungry.

The menu was basic and expensive for what was on offer. I ordered the fried chicken and salad - literally chicken on a bed of lettuce and 4 pieces of chopped tomato.

The restaurant charges 8% tax on top of your bill, as well as charging 300¥ for each person as a 'cover charge' which is slipped into the back of the menu.

Would not recommend and would not return.

Date of visit: March 2016
5  Thank sarahmiller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Izakaya Hie also viewed

Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 

Been to Izakaya Hie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing