We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
6
14
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
14
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We are a family with teenagers on our first ski holiday. Wanting to a different experience, we selected this amazing place nested within the woods near Goryu ski resort.

We drove and finding this place in daylight was not challenging.

The staff was very friendly and tried their very best to communicate our ski lesson bookings and recommendations for rentals. Very thoughtful of them to safe keep some food stuff we left in the fridge after checking out to go onsen. When we return the towels after onsen, he kindly presented everything neatly to us. He even helped with setting the in-car Japanese GPS to our next destination.

Lighting the fireplace and having the family sit around was most memorable.

A bit pricey but the house is well equipped with floor heaters, electric blankets and humidifiers.

There is a small local eatery down the slope, next to Route 148. It has a lighted star in the eatery and lighted signboard on a van just parked outside. Good food at local prices. Non-smokers beware or ask for a corner table at the back (like we did).

Room Tip: A big smile?
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singapore_Tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

I have a dog. I wanted a place to stay with my dog. I was willing to pay extra in order to bring my pup along with me. If you have no dog, this place is expensive and probably a bit creepy if you're not a dog person. But it's great to have a place where you can bring your dog along. It's a little condo with 2 "full" beds (tight squeeze for a couple, but it works), a tatami room (the bedroom closet has extra futon beds for the other people), and downstairs has a living room, small kitchenette and a bathroom. It is pricey. It would be perfect if we could bring a second couple and split the cost, but it is paid by the number of people in attendance, so it is prohibitively expensive if you do not have a dog.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We arrived at about 9pm at night. It was about a 20 minute walk from the drop off location of the Nagano to hakuba bus. The staff were super friendly and showed us to our room. They used google translate to communicate and asked us if we wanted breakfast or dinner the next day.

When we wanted to go skiing or to the combini they were very accommodating and would take us by car. They even helped us order skis.

Overall it was a very pleasant experience and I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

When we booked here, we had no idea it was a dog hotel.
When eating in the restaurant other patrons had their dogs sitting with them eating meals.. That aside the meal was exceptional, really really great and at a very decent price. 6 courses of kaiseki style cuisine.
The chalet was nice and cosy but nothing special.
There was no wifi, which is a big drawback.
Overall it was nice but not the value I expected from the price.
This is a nice place to get off the grid and spend time with your family, which is exactly what we did - could have even taken the family pet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olivecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Back home after a great holiday in Hakuba I feel the need to share some thoughts/comments and feedback regarding our stay at the Phoenix Wing.

First of all, the house was lovely, nice and cozy. We felt really being nestled in the mountains and surrounded by nature as we wished.

However, there were a few things we didn't like that much. First dissappointment happened when we were supposed to be picked up at the Gory bus stop (as told when we called when boarding the bus in Nagano). We waited 1h in the bitter cold even though we called several times upon arrival (even in Japanese). There is only 1 stop called Hakuba-Goryu. How in the world can you not find it ? (BTW, it came out the resort is just 7min drive away). It really made us bad mood.

Once arrived at the resort we were escorted to our house, hand over the keys and 2 hot refreshing towels without further explanation....just to be told that for dinner we will be driven to a near by restaurant. When I tried to understand which restaurant we will go to, the Japanese guy who supposed to drive us was unable to tell...as he cant speak a word of English. The only thing he mentioned was that we should be finished by 8pm for pick up. Luckily the food was great (and crazy expensive too !).

Next morning we went for BF at 8.30 (as that's the time we were told to show up). The BF room was bitter cold and it seemed we were being the only guest. The food was served right away without asking what we wished to have as there was no buffet. When we asked about dinner, we were told that we can eat at the restaurant but the menu is fixed and costs 3000 Yen/person. Since we couldn't read the Japanese menu nor anyone could explain it to us we gladly refused to eat there.

I didnt felt being taken care nor welcome. If didnt knew that we will be the only guests (for sure we were for the first 2 days) and no one can speak Japanese then i believe we should have been at least told in advance more detailed how things will be organised, that the restaurant basically is not operating, the bar not open etc and that there is no supermarket in walking distance. There was also no English information available, neither at the lobby nor in the houses so people can get more details, especially about the area, how to operate the heaters, where is the next shop, what restaurant are near by. Im sorry, but for the price we paid the service (apart from driving us by bus to nearby shops and restaurant upon request) the team was literally not present and didn't really care. Another real negative point is the non-existence of internet in the room. Its totally inconvenient to walk always to the lobby just to check out some things, especially when its -5C and snowing. Each and every house should have free wifi. As such, I would not recommend this resort to any of my foreign friends although we liked the snow experience but the location and service do not qualify for the price paid (BTW, another thing I didn't llike was the fact that we were told to pay the whole amount in advance !!). We would chose another location where we have access to more shops and restaurant and can be more flexible and independent.

Room Tip: room 402 was nice and had a good location
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OliBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews