We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bears Den Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)
USD 295
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hakuba Mominoki Hotel(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
USD 190
USD 159
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Hotel Stelle Belle(Hakuba-mura)
USD 264
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 199
USD 193
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Echo Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
USD 308
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Abest Hakuba Resort(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
USD 228
USD 183
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
USD 316
USD 185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Morino Lodge(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
USD 208
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phoenix Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
USD 665
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
84
0
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
0
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubsushi train restaurantplace to stayother guestsquality linenhome cooked breakfastlocal knowledgeevery morningan aussieguest roomsan amazing hostopen fireheated flooringfamily ski trippick upsnew friendsrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Our family of 5 stayed at Bears Den for 1 week in January 2017. We had received recommendations from 3 separate people and this place more than lived up to its reputation.

Firstly the hospitality. Lesley, Riley, Justin and Brooke were the most amazing hosts. From the initial communication via email, to the pick up from the train station on arrival, drop offs and pick ups to the ski slopes, ski rental shop, bookings for restaurants, cooked breakfasts, inhouse dinners, bar service, fireworks night and general tips and guidance - we could not have asked for better service and support - from what felt like family.

The accommodation - the lodge itself is so comfortable. Great design with the wet room and all bedrooms (with ensuites) downstairs and the communal living areas upstairs. The beds are amazing - like sleeping on a cloud - wonderful for some sore bodies after a day attempting/attacking the slopes. The thought of an outdoor hottub was a little surreal but once we all experienced it - we were in it every night. The communal areas are very spacious, as are the guest rooms. With a great group of other guests - we were all really comfortable to hang out together most nights - having a drink, a natter and playing boardgames.

The location - the Lodge is at the end of a quiet street in a quiet area of Hakuba. You can easily walk up to one of the ski lifts and to all the restaurants in the community. Shuttle buses also provide pick up and drop off just down the road. Perfect location.

We could not have stayed at a better place, or asked for better hosts, for our first trip to Japan in the snow. The whole family loved the experience and we all plan to go back some time in the future. Thank you Bears Den for some amazing memories.

We highly recommend Bears Den to anyone looking to travel to Japan.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us Jodie and family :) Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

TIP - Don't stay anywhere else.

It was our first trip to the snow, and we could not have picked a better place to stay than with Lesley at the Bears Den Lodge.

Be sure to ask Lesley where to find the infamous Hakuba Goat-Bear !!

Lesley was a brilliant host, and the facilities at the lodge were first class. We stayed in a lot of different places on our 3-week trip across Japan, and the Bears Den was by far our favourite.

Lesley was so helpful, from coming to pick us up from the bus stop, helping arrange snow gear and a lift-pass, giving us tips on where to eat and drink (and even booking us in to some of her favourite places in town - and she ALWAYS made fantastic recommendations).

I even got to snow-board with her on one of the days up the top of the gondola - she's a RED-HOT boarder!!!

We were a little nervous about hitting the snow for the first time, but thank god for Lesley and her smiling face and helpful nature. We had a ball. And the lodge is only a short walk from the lifts, so you waste no time getting going in the morning, and getting home in the afternoon to tend to a sore backside :-)

It's not that far from town either, for all the best food that Hakuba has to offer, some brilliant Onsen, and there are great bars for a drink just down the road.

The room was very comfortable - soft bed and pillows (THANK GOD - Japan has some odd ideas about bedding, but as an Aussie, Lesley knows just what we like!!) and the huge HOT shower was brilliant after a sore day stacking it on the snow.

Hopefully we get to go back to Hakuba soon.

If we do Lesley will be getting a call - we'd never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Veruca1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us, looking forward to having you stay again. Still smile when I recall the Goat-bear conversation at the bar with you guys :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Lesley is a wonderful host who made us feel so at home as soon as we walked through the doors. The lodge is top class and the beds are by far the best in Japan!
If you are looking for somewhere amazing to stay while you're in Hakuba you can't go past Bears Den! Do yourself a favour and book it today!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us Bade, looking forward to having you stay again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

From the extremely comfortable beds, plush towels, and soft pillows, to the homely living areas, Bears Den Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to stay, offering all the comforts from home. Thank you Lesley for the cooking lessons, the wonderful company and for the much needed respite. Can't wait to be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Q9949IKlindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us Linda, looking forward to having you stay again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

This place has everything you need - large cloud beds for getting a good night's sleep and resting after a hard day on the mountain, heated flooring to keep your toes nice and toasty warm, delicious and filling home cooked breakfast every day, a home trail straight up to the gondola, the best customer service you will find in Hukuba! I cannot recommend this lodge enough :)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Auzzitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for staying (so long) at the 'Den guys, we look forward to catching up again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews