We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
85
0
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
0
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor hot tub other guests sushi train restaurant place to stay an aussie an amazing host every morning guest rooms heated flooring family ski trip pick ups new friends walking distance feel right at home drop offs rooms are large perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

From the extremely comfortable beds, plush towels, and soft pillows, to the homely living areas, Bears Den Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to stay, offering all the comforts from home. Thank you Lesley for the cooking lessons, the wonderful company and for the much needed respite. Can't wait to be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Q9949IKlindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us Linda, looking forward to having you stay again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

This place has everything you need - large cloud beds for getting a good night's sleep and resting after a hard day on the mountain, heated flooring to keep your toes nice and toasty warm, delicious and filling home cooked breakfast every day, a home trail straight up to the gondola, the best customer service you will find in Hukuba! I cannot recommend this lodge enough :)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Auzzitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for staying (so long) at the 'Den guys, we look forward to catching up again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

My solo stay at Bears Den was exactly what I needed.

Lesley is a great host and the place is amazing for both engaging with other travellers or for when you just want to chill out in privacy.

The lodge is immaculate and the room I had was very spacious with a massive bed and ensuite (nothing like what you will encounter in Tokyo) and it is all set in beautiful surroundings.

Plenty to do (eating and drinking) around the lodge neighbourhood so there is more than the wonderful skiing that makes this place the perfect destination.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank sbricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us S, looking forward to having you stay again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Our stay at Bears Den was faultless. Lesley is a fantastic host and caters to your every need while also allowing you the privacy you need. Bears Den offers a very welcoming environment in beautiful surroundings. The rooms are large with fantastically huge beds and private bathrooms with everything being super clean.
We were provided with a wonderful cooked breakfast every morning and transported to our chosen ski destination. There are any number of diverse restaurants to choose from for your evening meal which are mostly all in walking distance. I could mention many more positives to this location but you should really experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handcpringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us H&C, looking forward to having you guys stay again sometime. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Lesley and Riley were once again fabulous hosts on our second trip to Japan. Bear's Den is such a happy, comfortable and homely place to come back to after a day out skiing. We all look forward to returning to Bear's Den for another family ski trip!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsdenhakuba, Owner at Bears Den Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us Kate, looking forward to having your family stay/play again sometime. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews