We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing National Park

What a wonderful place to visit in any season. Spent several hours here and never gets old. Lots of... read more

Reviewed 8 December 2020
Odakyumatt
,
Ebina, Japan
Very nice, lots of crowds

Wery nice park with lots of islands partially covered with forest and connected with bridges. Very... read more

Reviewed 6 December 2019
Nasuella
,
Tel Aviv, Israel
Read all 333 reviews
  
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
141
151
38
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
141
151
38
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Lots of tourist buses drop off sightseers for a short photo shoot at one scenic spot. But this park deserves a few hours at least. Our visit today (mid Dec) showed the park as a winter fairyland. It was fully covered with snow. As we walked around the frozen lakes, with little islands protruding out of the ice, each corner revealed beautiful views. Lunch was in a small restaurant in town with delicious ramen and gyozas. As the sun set, gorgeous hues were cast on the mountain tops. White swans honked as they flew to rest for the night. Well worth a visit if you are in the Hakodate area.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank EckSoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

This lake is one of my favorite visit spot in Japan and it has its charm in four different seasons of the year. Last time, I went there in early winter. Despite of the cold weather there, the white, calm and peaceful environment did make me to stay there for over two hours, taking photos as well as having some snack in the lonely lakeside restaurant. Of the four seasons in the year, I do recommend you to visit the park in autumn time when you will find momiji surrounded lakes in the whole area.

Date of experience: December 2013
2  Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We reached the park at about 4pm on a Sunday and it was getting dark as its autumn. Most of the shops were wrapping up for the day and we missed the last boat round the lake. We did manage to do a short walk following a footpath around the boat area and were completely mesmerized by the view. While leaving the place, we saw people lighting up the pumpkins lining the entrance to the park. The pumpkins were setup as it was two days to Halloween. The larger pumpkins had their weight labeled and the heaviest we saw was 198 kg.

We saw a shop house bustling with people so we decided to step in to take a look. They were selling food and people were strolling in to eat and enjoy the park in early autumn. The trees in the park have special lighting thrown on them and the pumpkins are all lighted too. It was a lovely sight with the autumn colors. We were initially upset that we missed the beautiful park walk as we arrived late but now we are happy to enjoy the evening events along with locals as the tour buses are now long gone.
I will rate this place 10 out of 10 and will definitely visit again.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Pipo2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I like this park because of its different scenery year round. Summer is the best season for hiking and biking. Spring , Fall and winter are different. Take a walk slowly around the lake, Can you hear the thousand wind that blow!

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank DDSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews