We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Takayama and Shirakawago Photoshoot by professional photographer
56

Book in advance
from
AU$753.99
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Ogimachi Castle Old Site Observatory
from AU$753.99
More Info
from AU$1,269.41
More Info
from AU$322.01
More Info
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
443
261
41
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
443
261
41
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Many would not know on this, but there is a bus that take u there. There is a timing on that bus to go up and down. Beautiful scenary, super photo venue.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank JJRana2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I walked all the way to the end of the village, but did not make the climb. I came here on a tour bus, and had lunch in the cafeteria. It is worthwhile to come for a panorama view. I think the view would be even more fascinating in the winter with snow.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Shirley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Perfect spot to view the village after wandering around it for a couple of hours. The walk up is quite steep. The alternate route is to drive being watchful for oncoming traffic as the road is narrow in parts. The view gives a fine appreciation of how isolated the village would be during the winter months, and in summer, when we visited, you can see for kilometres up the narrow valley.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2015

It s included in the package when you visit the village: you have to go there, certainly to be sure that you don t miss something in your trip. The view is nice but not to die for. 2 roads: a short by stairs but awful, an other one by an regular road....really easy, not too long. Don t hesitate go for the easy way

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Hervé D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I got the first bus from Takayama which left at 7:50a with an arrival about an hour later. First shuttle bus to the observatory was at 9am. There were less than 10 of us which made picture taking a lot more pleasant. It costs 200 Yen each direction to take the shuttle which comes and goes about every 20 min or so. The overlook was beautiful but as it got later, I could see the area quite full of tourists as I looked up from the town so get there early! I stayed about 40 minutes though mostly all other visitors were in and out a lot more quickly.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank ladylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews