We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Takayama and Shirakawago Photoshoot by professional photographer
56

Book in advance
from
AU$753.99
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Ogimachi Castle Old Site Observatory
from AU$753.99
More Info
from AU$1,269.41
More Info
from AU$322.01
More Info
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
443
261
41
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
443
261
41
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Great viewpoint although a bit crowded! It's well worth going up there so you can have an overview of the whole Shirakawago area.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank julienb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

You can walk up to this high point of the village using a short steep hike (from the main road) or by the back road that slowly winds up to the point. A bus can also take you there without much effort. It's the best place to see the layout of the village which is so picturesque.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Mag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Terrific view over the World Heritage village. A good place to orient yourself before heading down into the village. Have your camera ready.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank harrytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Shirakawa go isn't a very place, worth going up to the observatory to take a picture of the entire village, very charming. Walk up instead of taking the bus, not a hard climb and watching the village slowly appear above the trees is quite a sight.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank pineapplepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2015

This observatory deck is just a short walk from the village, and gives you the most wonderful panoramic view of the farmhouses and it's lovely green surroundings. It's a must visit if you're in Shirakawa-go! Make sure you wear good walking shoes though, as one of the two paths leading up the mountain is a quite steep nature trail.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank virvelsnurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews