We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Takayama and Shirakawago Photoshoot by professional photographer
56

Book in advance
from
AU$745.82
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Ogimachi Castle Old Site Observatory
from AU$745.82
More Info
from AU$1,255.65
More Info
from AU$318.53
More Info
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
443
261
41
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
443
261
41
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2015

This observatory deck is just a short walk from the village, and gives you the most wonderful panoramic view of the farmhouses and it's lovely green surroundings. It's a must visit if you're in Shirakawa-go! Make sure you wear good walking shoes though, as one of the two paths leading up the mountain is a quite steep nature trail.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank virvelsnurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

Great view of the entire village. Good opportunity for taking pictures and eating ice cream. The souvenir shop is not to bad either.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank raazgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2015

You would not want to miss this view of the whole village. The walk from the village was not particularly long or arduous and the view well worth it. There is a small shrine near the viewpoints that adds to the experience. There is another less used and more basic trail if you walk away from the shrine. It is very steep and drops down to the businesses outside the grass roofed village near the vehicular bridge. It could not be recommended for anyone with any physical restraints but did provide a contrast to the way up. It also means you have to pass a little coffee shop called Coffee Hina which is well worth a visit.There were people climbing up to the viewpoint that way but it would be a challenging climb.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank GraftonRiverguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Quite a trek if walking up to this vantage point, but so worth the effort. View across the entire village and the river with the bridge across.
Fabulous rural, remote location......

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We wanted to take the shuttle bus from the bus terminal to the viewpoint but was told that the last bus had left at 3.40 pm. I was very shocked as i had gathered from the internet prior to our trip that the last bus was at 6 pm. I had timed my arrival to make it in time for the bus. Maybe there was a different schedule for different season. We visited in May.

We got a map from the tourist office and decided to walk to the viewpoint after we deposited our bags at the guesthouse. It was a very nice walk from the centre of the village up to the viewpoint, especially after the day-trippers had left the village around 5 pm. We hardly met anyone on our way up to the viewpoint. The walk took us around 30 min one-way. Walking to the viewpoint was a good way to explore the village on foot and appreciate its beauty and peace.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank GreenBeanSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews