We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation quality”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Magalas, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nigeltims...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation quality”
Reviewed 15 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The perfect base from which to explore the Lanquedoc Region, with towns, restaurants, vineyards, the countryside, and the sea all easily accessible within a short car journey. Gite 2 was beautifully furnished to a very high standard..the beds were so comfortable !!...., and Magalas has all that is necessary for a self catering vacation. My wife & I will definitely return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Thank you for your kind review Tim. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrichhor...
Jena, Germany
1 review
“Good Vibrations in South France”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My family had a great summertime in Magalas. It was a very hot time, but rivers and the see made it a very comfortable stay. The Gite was nice, calm and big enough for a big family. Gary Rhoades, the owner of the house, is a kind person. Thank you very much.
In the case of southern France, I can highly recommend the gite.
UHO

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2018
Glad you had a comfortable stay in our gite. Thank you for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Papandy
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in historic hill town”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

quality than most we have stayed at in France & Italy.

Magalas is an interesting hill town with all the essential shops and services, a good base to explore the Languedoc area.

Pervious review mentioned being very cold, we had no issues, it was cold when we arrived yes, but with the electric radiators on high it soon warmed up that first evening, heating turned down we were comfortable during our stay, would we stay there again, yes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristine5...
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Languedoc-Roussillon secret location”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have been staying in these gites since 2011, we have stayed in all three gites and they are all very comfortable, well furnished, well equipped and tastefully decorated. There is plenty of linen and towels, which we've found is lacking in a lot of gites and they are the best value for money we have found in this area. There is WIFI, which works really well.

The village of Magalas has two restaurants, baker, pharmacy, post office, two hairdressers, tabac, bank, a greengrocer and a small supermarket with very competitive prices and they do roast chicken on Sundays. The large Intermarché is only a 2 minute drive away and here you will also find an Aldi store, another baker and a butcher. Of course there are many vineyards and the local wines are excellent.

We originally chose this area because of it's central location. There are beautiful beaches close at hand and it's very easy to get to Spain, Carcassonne, Uzes, Nimes and the Pont du Gard, the Pyrenees and even the Luberon in Provence.

The village is lively, with festivals and live entertainment in summer in the village bar/restaurant. There is also a sports bar, a take-away pizza and a lovely restaurant La Galerie which serves great food at a very realistic price. They are doing a 3 course menu of the day at lunch time for 14 euros and the food is excellent. As the gites are in the centre of the village, no need to worry about driving home from dinner. However, there are many other excellent restaurants in nearby villages.

When it becomes common knowledge that we're returning to Magalas, we are inundated with requests from friends and family who also want to return, as everybody enjoys the area and the accommodation.

The owners of these gites are very friendly and helpful. There are never any problems with deposits or payments, and they have people on hand in the village in case a problem arises. I highly recommend these gites as good value for money, location, comfort and just the enjoyment of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gite is easy to live in, very homely.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing