We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity is king”
Review of Angkor Soul

Angkor Soul
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Marple
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Had lunch here recently and what a find this place is ! We have had our share of fine dining with dots, spheres and foams. Had our fill of claims of "letting the produce speak for itself" only to mask said produce with sauces, reductions and drizzles.
The Angkor Soul could teach many well established restaurants that simple food cooked to a high standard is actually what the customer wants. The food was brilliant. We had 3 starters, all excellent. The Summer roll was a delight with w wonderful flavour of Basil. Chicken wings have never tasted better with a superb spicy sauce.
Our main courses were equally delicious. Cambodian Fried rice - a humble dish elevated to a new level with King prawns that were KING Prawns. My wife, who prides herself on making her own curries from scratch, was blown away by the King Prawn Kari - declaring it one of the best she has had.
3 starters, 2 main courses and a bottle of wine for £50!!
As we live relatively close by we will be returning time and again.
Good food cooked well with no pretentions to be other than what it is. A relaxed restaurant with great service and a simple ethos of feeding people well.
WELL DONE ANGKOR SOUL and thank you

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been here a few times even though I live over 40minutes away it’s well worth the trip. Food is delicious, simple laid back atmosphere and friendly staff. Recommend the Royal Amok (their fish curry) and the chicken wings/ cauliflower starters. They cater really well for vegans and gluten free.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank lotslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I have eaten here a couple of times and this little restaurant never fails to impress. We shared avocado spring rolls with spicy cauliflower to start, delicious! Noodles with prawns and a Cambodian Kari with Tofu plus rice for mains absolute heaven!
The side dish of mushroom with lemon was utterly devine, better than any mushrooms ever tasted! Looking forward to the next visit!
Thank you for such amazing food!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank _beccaknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We didn’t book but they managed to squeeze us in and I am so grateful they did. It was a wonderful meal so tasty. I will definitely be returning but will make sure I book next time.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday and used the vegan menu. Managed to park outside but cant imagine you would always be so lucky. After buying a few records downstairs we sat at our table.

Ordered lime sodas which were disappointingly £1.75 each.
Starters - the most amazing cauliflower dish ever (a better dish than Gobi Manchurian) and tofu with a delicious Chinese-ish peanut sauce and a fresh and basic Asian side salad. Mains - blow your mind gorgeous seitan lemongrass stirfry (sauté) which was spicy and mmmm so tasty! And the curried noodles which tasted so much like Cambodian food, really took us back to our visit several years ago. These 2 dishes together with starters were too filling for us and we wished we hadn’t got the Cambodian curried noodles in noodle form but just as a Cambodian curry with rice for a lighter meal. But we took it home to enjoy later.

Overall was the best vegan dishes we’ve had since going vegan.

At £43.50 for 2 people without alcohol or deserts it is a bit steep but it truly was delicious. It has a normal menu too so suitable for everyone and includes gluten free options.

Only 1 vegan desert available - sticky black rice. Which I’m sure would have been lovely but maybe they could offer more choice.

If they offered more vegan deserts and most importantly didn’t charge extortionate amounts for soda water (£7 spent on drinks which are often free in most restaurants and bars..!?) then I would have given a 5 star.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CanalCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Soul also viewed

Marple, Stockport
Marple, Stockport
 
Marple, Stockport
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Marple, Stockport
 

Been to Angkor Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing