We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing Family Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bona Ngwenya Lodge

An eagles view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An eagles view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
An eagles view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jultra
Bridgwater, Somerset, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing Family Holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Well where do i start on arrival we were met by Inga who is a fantastic lady and she showed us around the house which is a dream well decorated and the photos do not do it justice she had baked scones with jam and also had fruit cocktails in the fridge. On the evening we saw a herd of 15 + elephants next to the fence with babies, in the morning we saw lions on the riverbed and at night the hippos made some amazing sounds, the gardens around the house are well looked after and if weather was a bit warmer would have made use of the lovely pool, we asked for a gamedrive and they were only to happy to help by getting Dan who was wonderful as Kruger as we saw the big 5 and a cheetah trying to do a kill but was too fast for the camera, at night we had the cutest bushbabies come onto the deck for food and also large fruitbats, we will be booking to see it all again next year and hope Dennis is better. overall a fantastic place and the people were out of this world with kindness and help...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen H
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for small groups & families - "the feeling of being with friends"”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The house is fully equipped with kitchen, pool, outdoor grill and especially magnificent views of the Crocodile River and border line to Krugerpark. The view can be reached easily via a raised passage, which is connected to the main house. Inge and Dennis are far more than "just" landlords. Both take care of everything and with much love, so that nothing is missing and you feel at home. We had a memorable stay, with sensational wildlife viewing at the Krugerpark - thanks to Dennis and his knowledge of Rangers. I can warmly recommend this accommodation to everyone. Although it may be a bit more expensive - it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTMS23
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An incredible bush experience with amazing hosts”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in the evening after a long day of driving and our hosts met us with refreshing fruit drinks and big smiles. They gave us a tour of the house and answered any questions. Our three nights in Marloth Park were unforgettable. We would highly recommend taking a game drive with Dennis--he is knowledgeable and friendly (we saw four of the Big Five in one drive--remarkable!). Inge was the ultimate host, going above and beyond to make us feel at home with homemade apple pie and ice cream sandwiches. Bona Ngwenya is situated in a quiet, private location. It is 25 minutes from the Crocodile Bridge Gate (Kruger Park). We would recommend bringing your groceries so that you don't have to leave because the viewing tower serves as a perfect way to see various animals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Caitlin and her family were the perfect guests , we hope to have them with us again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodymothi...
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and location”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what an amazing and spacious place. Awesome location and views. Great for a large family and for a romantic getaway too. Located within full view of the crocodile river. We got to see Elephants, Hippos, Crocodiles, Giraffes, tons of buck and various bird species all from the comfortable deck. Inge and Dennis are wonderful hosts ensuring that we were well taken care off. They even arranged an Exclusive Romantic Kruger experience. We were offered the option of an open or luxury closed vehicle, we chose the closed aircon option. Lovely rock pool and boma area too. We will definitely be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place and wonderful owners”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We were due to arrive at Bona Ngwenya Lodge about 4pm, but after a flight delay and a long queue to collect our hire car, we arrived about 6:30pm, 26 hours after leaving home, tired and weary.

We had kept the owner, Inge, updated on our progress and on arrival, there were non-alcoholic cocktails and platters of hot and cold snacks awaiting us. This welcome was to set the scene for a magical week.

The grins on our three teenage sons’ faces when we first entered the lodge was worth the price of admission alone. The photos on the website don’t really do the property justice. The lodge feels so spacious with its high ceilings. A well-equipped kitchen, three bedrooms, three dining tables (one inside, two outside), two TVs, a bar, fans and air conditioners throughout; the list goes on.

Go upstairs and through the patio doors, down the runway to the lodge’s crowning glory, the thatch-roofed observation tower, affording wide views of Kruger National Park, the boundary of which is only meters away, with the Crocodile River attracting the animals. A magical place to sit and relax, especially at sunrise and sunset. Even once the sun has set, the sounds of the crickets, toads and the odd lion growl fill the air.

Zebras, warthogs and mongooses all made regular visits to the lodge’s grounds and were happy to be fed. Unfortunately, we didn't see the bush babies as they tended to visit in the middle of the night when we were fast asleep, recovering from our early morning starts. Other animals including giraffe, kudu and impala also roam Marloth Park.

What made Bona Ngwenya Lodge such a special experience however, were our hosts, Inge and Dennis. They were such lovely, warm and genuine people and could not do enough for us, whilst also respecting our privacy and never feeling overbearing. Inge would cook us lovely treats including South African pap porridge to accompany our Braai and some delicious fruit bran muffins.

Little touches such as biltong, droewors and yummy truffles left on the coffee table made us feel at home.

Dennis would also offer to take us around and lent us various gadgets to help us view and listen to the animals. On our final day, Inge and Dennis drove us around Kruger National Park where on our fourth attempt, we finally got to see some of the elusive leopards.

Everything that Inge and Dennis did felt so genuine; done because they wanted to, not because they had to as part of their business. The week felt like we were staying with friends or relatives and you knew that Inge and Dennis would be offended if you didn't ask for anything you needed. We set out just renting a property, but got so much more, making it a week we will all remember for many years to come.

If you want to stay somewhere with easy access to Kruger National Park, I can't recommend Bona Ngwenya Lodge highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing