We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place of incomparable beauty, sunshine and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House overlooking the sea and the hills of Hoy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House overlooking the sea and the hills of Hoy
Buxa Farm Chalets VisitScotland four star award
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House overlooking the sea and the hills of Hoy
Buxa Farm Chalets
VisitScotland four star award
Chalets and Croft House
Rear of chalets facing Scapa Flow
Open plan kitchen,dining and lounge
Roomy modern kitchen with all the modern cons
Sumptuous king size bed can be split into twins
Roomy modern bathroom with shower over tub
Comfortable twin beds can be zipped together to form a super king bed
Enjoy tasty barbeques with one of the most beautiful of views
1st accommodation provider in Orkney to be awarded the Children Welcome Badge from VisitScotland
Children's playset guarantees hours of play
Bird hide on property to observe birds up close on the pond
Recommended by over 150 visitors on TripAdvisor
Sunset views over Stromness from Buxa Farm Chalets
Dawn views from Buxa Farm Chalets
Lighthouse views from Buxa Farm Chalets
Standing Stones
Brown short eared owl regularly seen hunting for Orkney voles at Buxa
Aerial view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Orphir, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
247sunshi...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place of incomparable beauty, sunshine and comfort”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Buxa Chalet is a perfect holiday rental property for our party (Mum, Dad and teenage son). It's located in an utterly idyllic setting with uninterrupted views of the islands of Graemsay and Hoy. The main living space is very well designed with light pouring in from various parts of the room. Bedrooms are compact, but the double bed is huge and delightfully comfortable. The kitchen area is full of everything you might need, and the wireless signal is strong and consistent (important for our teenager!). We have enjoyed several Orkney holidays in previous years and found that with this accommodation, we could simply have relaxed here for the entire week making occasional forays down to the beach to watch the birdlife and to marvel at the profusion of orchids. We could not recommend this place more strongly. Grateful thanks to Kathy and her family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. We do our best to provide all the comforts and are happy to hear that our hard work is appreciated. Please come back and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 20 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bellmar20...
Gotha, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Ich freue mich, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt in Buxa Farm Chalets genossen haben. Wir sind kinderfreundlich und freuen uns, Ihnen eine Krippe und einen Hochstuhl für Ihre Enkelin geben zu können. Wir hoffen, dass Sie wieder besuchen werden!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaffetant...
Springe, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die hellen Räume und der Ausblick auf die Nachbarinseln
Liked least: Internet hat nicht zuverlässig geklappt
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Vielen, vielen Dank für einen schönen Bericht. Wir sind so froh , dass Sie die Villa, die Ansichten und die Wärme genießen . Apologies über die Langsamkeit des Satelliten WiFi-Verbindung. Wir dürfen 30 GB Datennutzung im Monat und leider erschöpft der vorherigen Gäste , dass durch Online-Gaming und Herunterladen von Filmen . Unser Provider drosselt das System , wenn dies geschieht , welche verlangsamt , aber nicht völlig von der Wi-Fi zum Glück geschlossen. Wir kommen jetzt zu warnen Leute , die Wi-Fi für E-Mails , etc. verwenden und nicht , um es für Dinge, die essen, Daten zu verwenden. Wir hoffen, dass Sie wieder kommen Sie uns besuchen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing