We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Family Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside view of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside view of the property
Living room with wood burning stove Sitting room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Outside view of the property
Living room with wood burning stove
Sitting room with open fire
Main bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
bathroom
Back of house including yard
The Mourne Mountains
Guests in the kitchen
Guests visiting Finnis Southerraine
James on the quad
Florence the donkey
Marty the bull
The cattle
Lagananny Dolman
Way to travel at Grove Fort
Over the Rib on a snowy day showing the potato drills from 'famine' fame
Scarva Canal walk,
Fort Road - Great place for a walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dromore, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fudge777
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at this lovely cottage for 5 nights in June and were really impressed with the facilities and how friendly and helpful Annette and Ivan were. When we arrived we were greeted by Annette and Ivan and they told us to let them know if we needed anything. We went in to find tea, coffee, homemade scones and jam, a very pleasant surprise. As we had been driving all day we wanted to go somewhere for some food so we asked Ivan and Annette where would be good and they told us and gave us directions. We also needed a travel cot for our youngest and a stair gate which they very kindly arranged for us while we went out for tea then when we arrived back it was all ready for us. We all slept very well, the bed was very comfortable and we loved the location of the cottage as it was ideally situated for us to visit our family and close to the Mourne Mountains with great views. We always enjoyed returning after a long day out. The wood burner was all ready to light, although we didn’t need to as the weather was so good. The cottage also has central heating which was good in the mornings and we always had a hot shower. There is everything you need in the kitchen and even a washing machine, a real home from home. Thank you to Ivan and Annette for making our stay so lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce L
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Annette and Ivan the owners gave us and our children such a lovely welcome and stay at Grove fort, never in all my years of traveling have I met such friendly helpful people. On arrival we were treated to home made scones coffee and tea and a look around the spacious house. Each room is bright with elegant decor, comfy beds, two bathrooms with showers! The kitchen was better equipped that my own at home and was big enough for a family of five to sit round the table. The wood burner and coal fire in both reception rooms were so welcoming and just added to the comfortable atmosphere. Our children will never forget Annette and Ivan for the walks over the fields to meet Florence the donkey and to see the cows and their calves. The setting is idyllic rolling green fields with stunning views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aisling19...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for the Irish Open. Had a great welcome and the home bakes were a lovely personal touch and delicious. Nothing was too much bother from Annette and Ivan. The stove was all set ready to be lit when we arrived which was lovely and Ivan filled the bucket with logs when it was empty. The house is spacious and clean and lovely and warm. It even had two sofa beds too if needed. I found the bed lovely and cosy too. The only thing is we wished we had sat nav as we took a wrong turn but didn't take long to find our way. The house has wifi too which was great to keep in touch with social media and to google places to eat and visit. Thank you Annette and Ivan for a wonderful stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. You and your family were wonderful guests. Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen M
Fuerteventura, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed with daughter and granddaughter for a week and could not fault the accommodation. Everything was spotless and there was a warm welcome when we arrived. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne p
1 review
“Rural yet convenient for exploring Northern Ireland”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed here with my family for three nights. It had everything you would expect for a comfortable stay. The owners were very welcoming and a very nice touch was the scones, tea, coffee and milk left for us on arrival.
The location is quite rural but it is convenient for touring. We had a great day in Belfast where we visited the Titanic exhibition. On another day we explored the Antrim coast and the Giant's Causeway.
I would definitely recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: trying to find the place( there are two Dromores and we went to the wrong one)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing