We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fjardarhotel Reydarfjordur
Nearby Hotels
Taergesen(Reydarfjordur)(Great Value!)
USD 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hia Marlin(Reydarfjordur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Austur Hotel(Reydarfjordur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
1
2
4
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
2
4
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Don't have the same experience as the other reviewers. We basically were the only guests in the hotel. We haven't had dinner here, but we did stay here for one night. It's not a very inspiring town, but we just used it as a place to sleep. The room was (very) small, and it was old, but it was clean and everything worked as you would expect. The beds were nice and the room had (free) wifi.
Breakfast was decent. Nothing special, but it was nice nevertheless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just as already others reported, the hotel was overbooked with a group when we arrived. And nobody would believe in another "computer error". They had already the directions to their second hotel ready, which was 40 km off our route. Because we did not want so far they finally advised us to go to the "Marlin Hotel". They said we could use the voucher and they would pay the Marlin. Luckily we only had a reservation and not a voucher, because the "Marlin" turned out to be the local hostel, where the owner had a very nice room for us, but with a shared bathroom. We also got a good dinner and breakfast for a reasonable price, and the room was much cheaper than the one we booked at Fjardarhotel Reydarfjordur.
The host, Marleen from Belgium, told us they are building rooms with private bath. So this is really a good alternative (via hostels.is).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiner-BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We arrived the hotel after a very long and tiring journey and where met at the entrance by a person who I assume was the manager. She told us that she had only been aware of our arrival one hour before and had no room. This was untrue! I had rung the hotel that morning and confirmed our reservation now I was being told we had no room. The lady told us that she had booked us in a nearby hotel and that hotel had a restuarant so we could get a meal. When we arrived at the alternative accomodation it was of a much lower quality bunkhouse type and had no restuarant. Luckily the bunkhouse owner rang a local restuarant and asked them to stay open so we could get a meal. Talking to the waiter in the restaurant we were told that we were not the first to be turned away from the Fjardarhotel. Please be aware that with this hotel a confirmed reservation is no guarantee of a room!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kjames3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We didn't stay at the Fjardahotel because of an overbooking. After having dinner in Eglisstadir we arrived late at the hotel. Despite the fact that we had a pre-paid voucher from Fosshotels (their priviledged partner), we were told the hotel was overbooked ("computer error"). The owners have another hotel but it's 40km away so they send us to the nearby "guesthouse". That guesthouse turned out to be the local youth hostel and instead of a double room with private bathroom we received a twin room with shared bathroom (the youth hostel does have rooms with private bathroom but they were fully booked). From the locals we heard nothing but bad feedback about this hotel.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We didn't stay at the Fjardahotel because of an overbooking. Despite the fact that we had a pre-paid voucher from Fosshotels (their priviledged partner) we were unable to stay at the hotel. They send us to a nearby hostel where we received a twin room with shared bathroom instead of a double room with private bathroom. From the locals we heard nothing but bad feedback about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews