We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - kids menu very limited. ”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Saddington
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Queens Head will be managed and co-owned by Chris Lewis- Sharman, a chef with over 25 years' experience of working in some of the best eating establishments. He will be supported by co- owner Julian Benton, who has 25 years' experience in the industry, and owner of CAMRA award-winning pub - The Staunton Arms, Nottinghamshire. A friendly welcome awaits all customers from local villages, as well as visitors from further afield, looking to drink and dine in a beautiful part of Leicestershire, with one of the best views in the county of Saddington reservoir. The Queens Head is a perfect setting to enjoy dinner with friends, or you could meet for a 'Pie & Pint' lunch, or simply use the free Wi-Fi whilst enjoying a great cup of coffee in our beautiful garden and terrace area. So, if you would like to visit us for a drink, some lunch, dinner or attend one of our fantastic events - we look forward to seeing you very soon.We have also introduced a Farm Shop to the Queens Head at saddington called Saddington Farm Shop selling local and homemade produce, including our signature Beef and Ale Pies.
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I had lunch with my young family. The £8.50 main courses available Monday to Thursday is great value. Portions are very generous and food is cooked to order. The children's menu only has meals with chips (which my little girl hates). I asked about children's sandwiches only be told that they only come as adults from the menu. I felt sad that I had to order a full size £4.95 doorstep sandwich for a 5 year old. This has prevented me from awarding a 5 star rating. A real shame and does make me want to return. An independent pub could easily have made a half portion - if they had wanted too!

Thank loves_to_travel075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi, Thank you for your review.We are sorry to hear this we do offer Sausage and Mash Potato on the children's menu. However thank you for bringing this to our attention and we shall look at offering more variety on our children's menu in the near future, we do hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

We visited the Queens Head recently early on a Friday evening. Despite not booking they found us a table with no problem as the restaurant wasn't too busy but filled up during our meal. This was our 4th visit & as previous visits the food was well presented & tasted lovely. My partner describing the fish & chips...as the best ever. The menu is extensive so something for everyone, equally they have a very good wine selection. I'm sure we will continue to return to this wonderful pub/restaurant in this quite Leicestershire village.

1  Thank Glenn-Jody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your fish and chips and hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Staying a couple of miles away and needed somewhere for an evening meal with friends. Found this pub on the internet and got a table booked for the evening. We were very pleasantly surprised by this pub and staff. They were very helpful and offered a good selection of menu choices avoiding allergens and intolerances. Excellent food. Certainly would recommend or visit again. Decent sized car park at the rear

1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you very Much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

After a good walk on a warm day, received a warm welcome in this pub. Enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant from their lunchtime special menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wbasse434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi Thank you for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We visited on recommendation especially for the pie and it didn’t disappoint. Generous portion, very tasty and filling, exactly as recommended. My partner chose lamb with vegetables and although the lamb was delicious and very well cooked, the rest of the meal was a little disappointing due the small portion of accompanying vegetables and potatoes. Despite being well cooked and nicely presented, the portion was too small for the price charged and a little bit style over substance. The service was very efficient and attentive and we now regret not saying something at the time as on reflection we believe that they would have been willing to have rectified this in some way. A lesson learned for us for the future.
I’m sorry we can’t give this a five star rating on this occasion based on our experience this time but I’m sure on the whole it is an excellent place and still worth a visit.

Thank juliee0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi, Thank you for you review, we shall look into the matter and rectify it as soon as possible, hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing