We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Saddington
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Queens Head will be managed and co-owned by Chris Lewis- Sharman, a chef with over 25 years' experience of working in some of the best eating establishments. He will be supported by co- owner Julian Benton, who has 25 years' experience in the industry, and owner of CAMRA award-winning pub - The Staunton Arms, Nottinghamshire. A friendly welcome awaits all customers from local villages, as well as visitors from further afield, looking to drink and dine in a beautiful part of Leicestershire, with one of the best views in the county of Saddington reservoir. The Queens Head is a perfect setting to enjoy dinner with friends, or you could meet for a 'Pie & Pint' lunch, or simply use the free Wi-Fi whilst enjoying a great cup of coffee in our beautiful garden and terrace area. So, if you would like to visit us for a drink, some lunch, dinner or attend one of our fantastic events - we look forward to seeing you very soon.We have also introduced a Farm Shop to the Queens Head at saddington called Saddington Farm Shop selling local and homemade produce, including our signature Beef and Ale Pies.
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were out for a cycle ride this week and as we rode through Saddington, we decided to stop at The Queens Head for a well deserved drink and originally a small lunch. We were greeted by a very friendly and polite lady who let us choose our table, and a menu (with plenty on it, plus a specials menu) we were spoilt for choice, and decided in the end to go for the mussels with fries and bread and steak and ale pie with mash and veg. My mussels were lovely and fresh and in an amazing creamy sauce, fries were fab and just enough bread to soak up all that yummy cream afterwards! My husbands pie was just jam packed with beautiful succulent steak, the mash and veg were really fresh, and as for the home made gravy......it was amazing. We couldn't manage a dessert, but had a lovely coffee. The price was very reasonable, for food so fresh, freindly professional staff, we couldn't have found anywhere nicer.

1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your meal and hope you enjoyed the bike ride, hope to see you again real soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

My friends and I were having a drive out today, saw this pub and decided to all in. We are so glad we did! It is a very nice pub with lovely views of the countryside, also a large children's play area. We got a warm welcome and were given a table straight away. Staff were friendly and efficient. We thought it was a nice touch to have the waitress bring a basket of bread to the table for us to choose a piece whilst waiting for our main course. Also to have cold water provided without having to ask. There was a good menu choice with different price ranges to suit everyone. We chose from the £7.95 Mon-Thurs menu and were all really impressed with the quality, portion and presentation of our meals. It was absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked and piping hot. We saw some diners having sandwiches and they looked amazing too. When the bill arrived we all said what good value it was for what we had and how much we had enjoyed it. The pub had a very relaxed atmosphere. As we were leaving we told the man working there how nice it had been and he gave us a booklet with the Christmas menus. I look forward to visiting again with my family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi Thank you for the review we are very happy you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I went to the queens head pub for our Sunday lunch the other day and really enjoyed it. What a lovely place to visit, the restaurant was spacious and had lovely views, shame the weather wasn't better!!!! The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious we had roast beef and treacle sponge for dessert which was gorgeous. Would highly recommend to all my friends

Thank thorpey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi, Thanks for your review.we are very happy your enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I first came here probably about 25 years ago.

It's not on my doorstep, but I have been quite a few times since then.

This weekend the Mrs. and happen to be passing on Saturday, a lovely warm sunny day, and agree we'd like to have lunch outside, somewhere.

The garden at the Queens Head has a bunch of benches overlooking the valley and hills beyond... the problem is, food is "not served" there.

UGH!

Another couple came into the pub, asking exactly the same question and also asking 'can we just take the sandwiches (we have paid for and bought from the pub) down to the garden?'

The answer is NO.

We left.

I reckon the others left also.

The pub lost about £60 of trade that moment.

No wonder pubs are closing.

Big, BIG, shame :-/

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crustyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your comments. We do serve food in our courtyard area, however we do not serve food to our garden area due to health and safety. If you would like to take your food down to the garden, it would not have been a problem, you would have been more than welcome too. We do not go out of our way to make our customers unhappy. If you wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate in contacting us on 01162402536

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We live quite close to this pub and have been here a few times, to be fair the food is of a good and tasty quality, nothing outstanding and the venue is nice. It has a large garden at the end of the pub car park with a small childrens swing and slide, so on a Friday night it is a good place to take the kids and have a quick drink while they play for half an hour. It's good for a quick and fleeting visit but on the downside if you want more..... Like ordering a table of more than four on a Sunday!!....We were told we cannot sit outside because they won't move the tables together (you can only sit in multiples of four!!!), you cannot have food in the garden due to health and safety. The staff are a little on the abrupt side, I really felt I was putting them out when we tried to order some food. I was not overly impressed. On the plus side they do have the odd Sunday with a bouncy castle but stipulate no more than 5 children at a time.... A bit to uncompromising for our liking and not the friendliest. Sorry. 3 stars for food quality and location

Thank 129jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qu H, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Hello Jamie,

Thank you for your comments and review. We do have to operate within certain health and safety restrictions and your comments do fall between these, we just want everybody to be safe and enjoy themselves outside, if you wish to discuss these matters further please do not hesitate in calling us on 0116 2402536

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing