We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of 'Carolina Blue

Street side view of Carolina Blue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street side view of Carolina Blue
Aerial photo showing location of home Oceanside view of home taken from beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
1 review
Street side view of Carolina Blue
Aerial photo showing location of home
Oceanside view of home taken from beach
Living room
Living room, from different angle
Living area--overall view
Dining room
Kitchen
Master bedroom w/king bed on main living level
Garden tub in first master bath
2nd master w/king bed on lower living level
View from 2nd master bedroom
Bedroom 3 w/2 queens on top level
View of ICW from bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 with 2 sets of bunks
Bedroom 5 with 2 sets of bunks
Game room with 2 double futons
Ocean side of home taken from end of boardwalk
View of ocean from upper deck
Hot tub on upper deck
Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
North Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

kborden19...
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty Good House / Poor Service”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was torn on the rating on this review since the house is pretty good but the management of the property by the owner and/or the realtor negatively impacted our experience. I will stick to the facts and let you draw your conclusions.

First, on the house itself...

Pros
Good location, remote but not far from the bridge to Sneads Ferry
Very nice pool - we were concerned about the size from photos but it was fine
Bedroom configuration worked great for us
Beach is excellent - shallow and clean
Nice area at the end of the walkway to the beach for keeping beach stuff

Other Notes:
No elevator and kitchen area is up two levels from the ground - lots of stairs (not great for people with mobility issues)
Kitchen area is a bit small for the house capacity
Not enough seating for dining for the number of beds
Can't get to the pool from driveway without going up and down stairs
Last 25 feet of access to the beach is a somewhat steep trail through the dune (again a mobility issue for some in our group). Almost all the other houses in the area have stairs over the dune.

Now to the property management...

About a month before our vacation discovered on our own that there was a major beach construction project on the island. The project was scheduled to be completed before we were scheduled to arrive but ran behind and a one month extension was granted. We were not informed of this by the realtor.

We emailed and called to confirm that our house would not be impacted and were told that that had no information and we would just have to check the town's website (which we already done and were still unclear if we would be impacted). After arriving we discovered that house was only about 3 miles from the rental office, which would have made it very easy to confirm that there was no construction in the area.

Upon picking up our keys were told that someone would be stopping by later in the day to fix the handle on the oven door. When we got to house we found that it was a much bigger problem than described. The top of the door was missing and both the inside and outside glass was badly broken. Immediately called to let the office know that the oven was not usable and it was a much different problem. The woman stated that they hadn't looked at the problem yet and were basing their information on the previous renters. She then proceeded to try to convince me that it was OK to use since the previous renters didn't have a problem. When I asked why it had not been looked at earlier, she stated that they didn't want to bother the renters during their vacation. I tried to explain that this decision has now led to inconveniencing us.

Skipping a lot of details, despite commitments that the oven would be fixed or replaced that afternoon, then by Tuesday afternoon, it did not get fixed until Thursday afternoon.

In addition, the dryer and dishwasher never worked properly during the week.

We have rented about 1 similar properties over the years so we are not newbies to vacation rentals. This is by far the worst customer service experience we have ever had.

Before writing this review I thought it would be fair to share our experience with the realty company owner. I did not receive a response.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
I am so sorry the guest was not satisfied with the home or our service. We have managed this house for many years and hardly ever have any complaints. In the case of the repair on the oven, that seemed to be understood by the guest at check in. Seemed to be perfectly ok that we were sending over a repair person.We were told they were not even going to use the oven. In this case, a part had to be located and I feel we responded pretty quickly to get it totally fixed by Thursday. When an appliance repair person is called I think most understand it could take a few days to get a repair completed especially when a part has to be located. We always strive to have a one day turnaround but sometimes that is not realistic as we are held to the vendors schedule as most would be.
The house itself is a very nice beach home and is in very high demand by many. Many of the guests each year request it for another year. We certainly wish that nothing would ever breakdown but we know that breakdowns do happen and we always do our best to get them repaired as quickly as possible and in a way that guest is inconvenienced the least.

Coastline Realty
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 2,195
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
19105260313
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing