We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”
Review of Chateau de Tanlay

Chateau de Tanlay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Château de Tanlay: Renaissance jewel in Burgundy Beautiful ensemble of the 16th and 17th centuries, built in the heart of the village by the family of the Admiral de Coligny, completed by a relative of Mazarin, preserved in the same family for three centuries. Remarkable architecture, walk along the Canal perspective, Renaissance fresco and trompe-l'oeil, furnished and decorated rooms.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This castle has a very interesting entrance flagged from both sides by pagoda like towers. Inside you can only visit with a guide who leads you through the rooms and gives quiet a nice explanation as to the furniture but more to the essence of the epoque.
Maintenance of some rooms can be improved as paint is peeling off but on the whole an impressive Chateau which justifies the trip .
If you come in winter or even beginning of spring make sure you wear warm clothing as it is pretty cold and damp inside

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 3 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful castle"
in 2 reviews
"french history"
in 2 reviews
"both sides"
in 2 reviews
"furniture"
in 3 reviews
"chateau"
in 14 reviews
"exterior"
in 2 reviews
"ballroom"
in 2 reviews
"visitors"
in 2 reviews
"nature"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

I would go out of my way to visit this Chateau. Don't let the unperfect nature of the exterior put you off. This is a marvelous piece of history. You must take a guided tour, ours was at 1000 and it was in English. There are 5 a day and it takes 1 hour. The interior is quite impressive. Our guide was loaded with facts. If you also plan to visit the nearby excellent chateau, Ancy de France, then you get a discount on the second admission fee.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank fssutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Very interesting Chateau.Special thanks to Qian young guide.She had a great natural talent to explain and tell about history of the Chateau de Tanlay

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank gosian872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your nice comment. We are fortunate to welcome Qian to the Château de Tanlay for her internship. See you soon in Tanlay ! 谢谢您的光临 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We had written material in English so we pretty much turned a deaf ear to the French guide. The small brochure in English was OK but sparse on the details that bring this chateau to life. The building was not overwhelming by French chateau standards but certainly impressive. The art work was remarkable and the grounds were lovely.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank HvPssptWilTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The outside of Tanlay is truly beautiful, picture perfect indeed.

There's one entrance to the chateau, through a couple of arches, over the moat. And mid-afternoon someone had decided that was the best time for the French Chuckle Brothers to shift a cherry-picker through from the courtyard side to us. This involved more shouting than movement (to me, to you), with those wanting to leave trapped within, and those wanting in trapped without. We took a walk to the grounds (now mostly given over to a golf course) and checked out the moat and dilapidated stables. After 20 minutes or so the cherry-picker had cleared one, the most difficult, arch. Which it appears warranted a break, with the engine of the machine still running, to toast the midway success.

We went back to the car.

We did actually come back a few days later, but found out you can only visit inside on a guided tour (granted, we should have checked the guide book in more detail). The next tour wasn't for another half hour or so, and there was no-one in the little ticket office to make sure the advertised time was going ahead, so in the end we headed off to a cave for a tasting instead...

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank anthbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Tanlay also viewed

Bourgogne-Franche-Comte, France
 
Bourgogne-Franche-Comte, France
 

Been to Chateau de Tanlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing