We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for R&R surrounded by fauna and flora...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Jacana Villa Yala

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tissamaharama, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Savithri2...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for R&R surrounded by fauna and flora, picturesque surrounds and service beyond the norm.”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wake up to peacocks prancing, robins chirping or the long tailed jaçana after whom the bungalow is named, gazing at you from atop a tree and maybe the resident star tortoise taking his morning constitution. Continue with a delectable breakfast (an indulgence which echoes at all mealtimes), spending a relaxed morning reading a book, lazily contemplating or jumping into the azure hues of the infinity pool or sprawled in the spacious verandah inspired lounge imbibing the fauna and flora that is so characteristic of Yala. Be spoiled by the undivided attention of an excellent service team and the spaciousness of the entire bungalow with its abundance of natural light, artful decor and contemporary feel. Jaçana Villa is so conducive to forgetting the rest of the world that a visit to the park may even be forgotten if a sharp eye is not kept on the time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shewantha...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly and Dedicated Staff who produce absolutely delicious meals :)”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just a short drive away from the entrances to the Yala Park, located in a secluded quiet area which is not commercialised. Two very large air-conditioned bedrooms, each room can comfortably accommodate a family/party of 4. You have to book the whole premises to take advantage of its privacy/exclusiveness. Wake up at 6.00 am and walk around the sprawling garden to observe the teeming bird life (take their bird book along with you to help identification.) After visiting the park, the pool is a great place to chill out in the evening - ask for the garden lights to be switched off - and you can observe a spectacular starry night, in near pin drop silence interrupted only by the sounds of the jungle. The staff are very obliging, courteous and helpful...and the chef is awesome. On at least one night I would recommend requesting a barbecue - inform them in advance for crabs/lobster/shrimp - the meal they prepare is truly a gastronomical delight. For pet lovers like me, the resident canine mother, father and son were perfect companions(they are not allowed to enter the living areas and reside in the garden.) The attention to detail by the staff is commendable ...when we came back late in the evening, hot and sticky after a full day in the park, the room a/c had been switched on, so we walked into cool bedrooms (believe me, this felt like heaven.) The linen and towels all have a fresh, new feel..and the bed is large and comfortable (I am over 6'3".) The living area and bedrooms are both cleverly lit with recessed lighting which adds to the ambience. The only negative was that was that we stayed only two nights at Jacana.. I would have stayed longer, if I could.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illmitz
Maennedorf, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic villa with great service”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent four days at Jacana villa and loved every minute of it. The tastefully decorated house is well maintained and very clean. Due to the very open architecture of the house there are at times insects around. In the garden peacocks, land monitors and lots of singing birds live which we found delightful.
Beds are the most comfortable ones we had during our whole trip. Best of all though is the fantastic food and the perfect service of the caretakers!
Thank you Shalini for making our stay a great experience and a very relaxing one.Thank you again for being so flexible to even organize an "on-the-spot"-dinner party for our Swiss friends passing by!
We hope to be back and will recommend Jacana villa without any hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, architecure, garden surrounding property, food, service
Liked least: fridge could stock soft drinks, beer; two more sunbeds at the pool could do
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begum52
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A LUXURIOUS GETAWAY IN THE MIDST OF THE WILDS”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thanks to the suggestion and generous spirit of Murtaza Jafferjee, we spend two idyllic nights at the Villa jacana. Frankly, I did not expect anything so beautiful and so elegant, yet with the environment of the wild and free fiercely preserved. Just a stone's throw from the Yala sanctuary, this Villa was the perfect abode to stay. All of us wild life lovers, passionate about the preservation of our forests, flora and fauna, we revelled in the wild beauty of the surroundings of the villa. Peacocks roamed, their screeches quite incompliant with the exotic beauty of their feathers nevertheless delighted the eye. Elegantly made and scrupulously clean (I like my creature comforts!) this villa provided the ideal space in between our journeys to the Yala Jungle. What a lucky afternoon we had! We saw elephant, bear, wild boar, wild buffalo, doe eyed deer, crocs lazing by the river beds, a jackal and ofcourse the exotic array of birds. Simply fascinating! Sri Lanka is so rich in her diverse and exotic nature..I humbly thank God for this beautiful isle.
Thanks to the divine Dasun always ready to please and the other staff, we had some amazingly tasty meals. Definitely the best yellow rice meal i have had in years. And the waffles for breakfast just melted into a buttery piece of heaven when it hit the palate.
Villa Jacana. We will be there again soon with you! And thank you for the splendid service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The elegance of the bungalow, the staff and the food
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyaSal...
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Jacana Villa was an unexpected 'little piece of heaven!" and one of the best holiday hideouts...
The setting is unique and breathtaking. The ambiance is simple, tasteful and elegant.
The stay was outstandingly pleasant.
Food was great. The service was greater!
We couldn't have found a better hideout away from the hustle and bustle to spend a 31st night in quiet tranquility like this one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The total package
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing