We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly rather than dog tolerant ”
Review of Beech Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent quality room, every little touch you could possibly need or want. Love the welcome glass of sherry and chocolate. The owners have truly made this a dog friendly establishment, to the point that they helped me teach my 11 year old labrador how to do stairs for the first time ever (I've always had to carry him). Dog settled really quickly and didnt want to leave, hence why he looks a little grumpy in the image! As long as you use the correct turning off the main road it's super easy to find (we had a little adventure as we turned off too early and Google maps just didn't have the capacity to cope) and the locals are happy to direct you if you do get lost. Stayed here as a stop over on way to Scotland and so glad we shall be staying on the way back. Amazing place...Really good value and can't recommend highly enough for dog owners.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Debs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as a last minute booking during a very wet, very miserable camping trip. Whoever cancelled their booking to open up the last minute space missed a trick - this place is excellent. One of the best b&bs we've ever stayed in and definitely the most welcoming for our dog. Jenny gave us information about a lovely local walk which we went on. The doggy welcome basket was a really nice touch, as was the welcome sherry for us and all of the thoughtful extras in the room. There was an abundant supply of tea, coffee etc, a hairdryer, an abundance of towels and even shampoo in the shower in case you'd forgotten yours. The hosts were lovely and unassuming. They left us to our own devices, which is always appreciated. There is a guest garden for nice weather which looked lovely. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of options. We would definitely come back. Thank you!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed in room 1 and we had two dogs with us a labrador and a greyhound. Sherry and chocolates were provided upon arrival. The room was very cosy but very spacious ,absolutely spotless . The dogs had a dog basket with biscuits,towels,poop bags,etc. This is one of the first bed and breakfasts that we have stayed at that has thought of everything for you're stay,even torches and a fan etc. The bed was a king size so very roomy and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely amazing and enough to fill you up. Jenny and Stuart are very friendly and very hospitable,nothing is too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending them.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a balcony and its own entrance with garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _sj54765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Jenny and Stuart Stott run a masterclass experience in hospitality. Jenny is a professional and it shows. You just cant find a B&B any where to match this in terms of the provision of amenities. The room we stayed in was room 1 Sherry poured on arrival. Tea and Coffee in the room. Wine glasses dog treats for our greyhound. The Best Breakfast anywhere. Cleanliness superb. The only issue was the lack of a shower in room one. The bath was nice, but if we had been staying longer than 1 night, we would have wanted a shower.

Room Tip: Room 1 gives you access to the garden and entry to and from the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Beech hill house B&B at Witherslack 4 miles from Grange-over Sands is just perfect. I went for 3 nights with my Daughter and my little dog Bailey.We had room 2 which over looked the back garden it had a king size and a single bed and was very spacious,all the rooms have en-suite,there was every thing in it that anyone would want inc shampoo & body wash, cotton buds, sewing kit, fan. There was 2 glasses of Sherry and chocolates and goodies for Bailey inc dog bowl & towels.Jenny & Stuart made us very welcome and gave us lots of tips for Bailey.I have no problem in recemending it to anyone and would go back there again if I am going to the Lakes again,and ho! yes the the breakfast was to die for.10 0ut of 10.They foster retired Grayhonds which are all up fo adoption

Room Tip: Beech hill house is near a dual carrage way I would say room 2 was the nearest to it but it did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASONLINDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny0053, Owner at Beech Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

It was lovely to welcome you, your daughter and Bailey here and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope Bailey is being a good boy and we look forward to you staying with us again when you are next in the area. Thank you for your nice comments which we very much appreciate. Kindest regards Jenny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beech Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill House

Address: | Off the A590, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range: $128 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Hill House is a truly dog friendly bed and breakfast situated just off the A590 at Witherslack. 8 Minutes from the M6 J36 we are situated in the South Lakes near Grange-over-Sands on the edge of the Lake District National Park. Receive discounted rates for multiple night stays by telephoning us direct - see our web site for details. With 3 spacious, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with king-size beds, each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with CD/DVD player, silent mini-fridge, safe deposit box, hair drier, hospitality tray and many other 'home from home' comforts to help you enjoy your stay. One bedroom has a private balcony with table and chairs, with access through the enclosed guest's garden to the drive while another has both a king and single bed in it making it an ideal double, twin or family room (sorry no children under 10 years of age). Dogs are truly welcome and we have an enclosed guest's garden with dusk to dawn lighting, parking is available, and our village pub is dog friendly and 50 yards along the road. Beech Hill House makes an ideal stop-over while travelling and base for visiting the Lake District and South Lakes Furness Peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beech Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing