We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Find We Will Defiantly Stay There Again :)”
Review of Beech Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at Beech Hill House in November 24th/26th, we used it as a base for our visit to the Dickensian Christmas Festival Ulverston Cumbria, its a dog friendly B & B run by Jenny and Stuart lovely friendly couple nothing was too much trouble for them, even when I'd lost my phone and had to go back after we left, Stuart helped me find it in the room.

We had the Garden room, as we had our chocolate lab Tyler with us, it was spotlessly clean there was a glass of complimentary sherry on the table for us, bed was very comfortable and the room comfortable, spacious, lots of storage, TV, Wifi, plenty of tea/coffee sugar and milks + biscuits, there even a tv guide, There was Lots of choice of dvds ,books, magazines, shower was great lots of hot water, even Tyler was given his own bed :)

Breakfast had lots of choice of cereals, fruits, fruit juices,bread, plus full English breakfast which was cooked exceedingly well :) yummy

Jenny told us all about the local area and dog walks/nature reserve

There was even a torch provided to use, for safety for walking along the dark road to the Derby arms pub which is a short walk away and great for an evening meal, there's also a small shot close by

Room Tip: We choose the garden room as we have a dog and we also smoke so could go outside without passing thr...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Beech Hill House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Booked for Christmas eve and Christmas day, as my son lives in the village and the rest of the family were all staying with him. Saw some OK reviews BUT the place was GREAT. Owners were very friendly. The room was very spacious with a good sized bathroom and came with TV/DVD, hundreds of DVDs and two welcoming glasses of sherry. We had breakfast in the room boiled eggs , cereal, toast and so much more. Eggs were fantastic with lovely orange yolks. Do not have a dog, but they are very welcome to stay (the B&B is a greyhound sanctuary). Will definitely go again.

Room Tip: There are three rooms we had the one with a double and single beds. There might be traffic noise fr...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed over Christmas and had a wonderful time. We had not taken our dogs with us on a holiday before and Beech Hill House was the perfect place to go. Our room had a separate exit and this was very convenient when taking our dogs to and from their walks. The room was really comfortable for all of us. Jenny was always very accommodating and helpful. The B&B is easily reached from the M6 and is really well located for all the attractions in the Lake District.

Room Tip: Number one room has the separate balcony entrance. Ideal for the dogs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding at Grange over Sands
Excellent find. Great big room, immaculately clean, turn-down service, massive comfy beds, and wonderful traditional breakfast.
Location just off the dual carriageway, but no traffic noise, and only 5 min drive into grange over sands
Really great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed in January & enjoyed so went back for my birthday. Glad I did. Jenny met us at the door & showed us to room 3. Nice big room with Walk in closet & a very nice bathroom. Waiting for us in the room was a welcoming glass of sherry nice touch. As Witherslack is a very small place its nice that the Derby Arms is a 2 minute Walk away. Breakfast as I said before is a tad early but well worth getting up for. 2 sausages 2 Bacon fried egg & fried bread very tasty. For a Saturday night #80 is very reasonable for 2 people.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witherslack
16.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.6 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
444 reviews
12.3 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
537 reviews
4.9 km away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,006 reviews
10.7 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill House

Address: | Off the A590, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range: $127 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Hill House is a truly dog friendly bed and breakfast situated just off the A590 at Witherslack. 8 Minutes from the M6 J36 we are situated in the South Lakes near Grange-over-Sands on the edge of the Lake District National Park. Receive discounted rates for multiple night stays by telephoning us direct - see our web site for details. With 3 spacious, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with king-size beds, each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with CD/DVD player, silent mini-fridge, safe deposit box, hair drier, hospitality tray and many other 'home from home' comforts to help you enjoy your stay. One bedroom has a private balcony with table and chairs, with access through the enclosed guest's garden to the drive while another has both a king and single bed in it making it an ideal double, twin or family room (sorry no children under 10 years of age). Dogs are truly welcome and we have an enclosed guest's garden with dusk to dawn lighting, parking is available, and our village pub is dog friendly and 50 yards along the road. Beech Hill House makes an ideal stop-over while travelling and base for visiting the Lake District and South Lakes Furness Peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Beech Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing