We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful cottage and surroundings.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ees Wyke Cottage

Ees Wyke Cottage and Gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ees Wyke Cottage and Gardens
Outside dining in the garden with lake views Plenty of parking for at least 3 cars
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Ees Wyke Cottage and Gardens
Outside dining in the garden with lake views
Plenty of parking for at least 3 cars
Log burner - which is gas for instant and clean cozy heating
Large light lounge
Large kitchen diner with new kitchen fitted 2018
You can sometime see the ospreys swooping over Esthwaite
2nd bedroom with lake views
Master bedroom with ensuite and lake views
Third bedroom can be set up as a twin or king bed
Views from the kitchen
Near Sawrey village
Viewing station view at the ferry
Village church
Near Sawrey from across the valley
Plenty of local sledging
Taking a stroll from the village
Views from across the village tarns to the Langdales
Esthwaite Water
Near Sawrey with the Old Man of Coniston behind
Esthwaite BoatHouse where you can hire boats to go fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Near Sawrey, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
welshgirl...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful cottage and surroundings. ”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

W/c 26th August. What a find this cottage was. Idyllic location. The cottage was lovely. Great comfy beds. Lovely bathrooms. Great views. The little garden to the front of the hose was lovely to sit out in and the amount of different birds that visited each day was amazing. Missing them already. Plenty of parking space. The Ees Wyke Country house is just a stones throw away if you want an evening meal out. It was all so peaceful. So close to some amazing walks and just a 5 minute walk to Beatrix Potter's Hill top farm. Also the Tower Bank arms. Had some lovely lunch time meals here sat out in the little side garden. We only touched on what the lakes had to offer so a return visit is a must. Great communication with Dave and Sharon prior to booking and lots of helpful information too. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
74sjs
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just had a fabulous week at Ees Wyke Cottage”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We've just returned from a lovely week away in Near Sawrey. Ees Wyke Cottage is the perfect place to stay - great surroundings, peace and quiet and the cottage itself was ideal - clean, lots of space, and with all mod cons, plus a local milkman who left a pint a day (and from where other supplies could be ordered if needed) - we had everything we needed for a fabulous holiday. It's a great base for exploring the local area, and the two local pubs (the Tower Bank Arms and the Cuckoo Brow) are country pubs at their best. We will definitely be paying a return visit!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Really delighted you had a fabulous holiday - we love it too. Remember to tell us you have stayed before as we always offer a discount for return visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northofth...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful area to stay”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ees Wyke cottage is a beautiful stone building in a area of the Lakes, steeped in the magic of Beatrix Potter. The cottage itself is well presented and comfortable, perfect for those cold November evenings. The local area has plenty to see and do with plenty of local eateries. Very close to Hawshead and Ambleside and local walks. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Thank you for your feedback - the cottage is in a lovely spot for exploring the south and central lakes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grayray39
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb cottage idyll..”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is very easy to award 5 stars to:
From the very beginning this turned out to be a great choice, Dave and Sharon, the owners of this wonderful hideaway were very helpful, so much so that Dave took a frantic phone call from me when I couldn't turn the tv on (a mutiny was brewing in the cottage over a tv programme the girls wanted to watch)..and Dave helped me through my 'senior' moment to get it switched on..ahem.
This cottage is situate in the grounds of a very lovely old hotel in Near Sawrey, and the view from our front door down to Esthwaite water was wonderful (there is a woodland walk alongside the lake). There are great walks from the front door (Claiffe heights is a must)and there is a great pub down the road, and another in the next village so drinks and food with no driving was the order of the day. Hill top is a short walk away but the cottage is nice and secluded so we didn't notice the truck loads of tourists visiting for the day.
The cottage is very well appointed with 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, all with king sized comfortable beds, The rest of the cottage has everything you could possibly need for a pleasant stay and there is even a cupboard full of games for rainy days. We were lucky as the weather was quite nice and we found the cottage to be the perfect base for our travels across this lovely area.
We stay in the Lake District a lot and have stayed in a lot of different places,(some good, some terrible) this one is really great so we will return to it again next year.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback - we are always delighted when guests have a fabulous holiday - you are always welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing