We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage in a beautiful tranquil location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Talwrn Glas

A charming family friendly rural retreat, yet convenient to so many wonderful places to visit.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A charming family friendly rural retreat, yet convenient to so many wonderful places to visit.
Kitchen-dining area Spacious living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A charming family friendly rural retreat, yet convenient to so many wonderful places to visit.
Kitchen-dining area
Spacious living room
Private garden area and patio
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Spacious master bedroom
Master bedroom with king-size bed
Master bedroom
Gallery with futon above master bedroom
Single bedroom
Bathroom
Original shippon roof above master bedroom
Slate steps leading to master bedroom
Paved entrance to Talwrn Glas
Front door of Talwrn Glas
Enclosed patio and garden
Clwydian Range viewed from the back of the house
View from kitchen and living room
Sunrise from the front of Talwrn Glas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Llandegla, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JamesandM...
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb cottage in a beautiful tranquil location”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Where to start with this wonderful cottage! The cottage itself has been beautifully converted, make sure to check out the folder of pictures on the work that was carried out - it puts Grand Designs to shame! The cottage itself was very clean, well equipped and decorated to a high standard. I was amazed it had WiFi but you will have little time for surfing the web with so much to do on the doorstep. It is warm and welcoming, as are it's owners Raymond and Helen who were happy to spend time giving us advice on good local places to eat and visit. We stayed with our two children and Raymond was good enough to provide a cot and a highchair, as well as a selection of toys for our then 9 month old son. The location was perfect for us and we had day trips to Chester, Shrewsbury, Conwy and Llangollen (three times!), as well as visiting friends in Mold. The drive up to the cottage from the main gate is a bit of an adventure in itself and don't be surprised to have a cow or two blocking the track! Don't worry though they do move and the kids loved it! We certainly plan to return to this little gem of a place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of the property
Liked least: The flys when opening the gate!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed exploring the area. If you come again the NT properties at Erddig and Chirk Castle are great for children.

Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJCWiltsh...
Wiltshire
1 review
“Wonderful & relaxing Christmas 2012”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Talwrn Glas and would certainly return again.

We have two small children aged 2 and 4 and are expecting our third child so a relaxing break for Christmas was just perfect. We also had my Mother-in-law and Sister-in-law staying and we all had plenty of room without being on top of each other.

Talwrn is ideally located, rural setting but only 5 minutes to get to the A5104 so easy access to explore the rest of North Wales or venture to Chester.

The cottage itself is beautifully presented and SO clean. When I talk about it to others they often giggle as I go into detail about the quality of finish even down to the lovely butter dish and huge towels provided.

The family who own this rental couldn't do enough to ensure we had a good stay, thank you ever so much for all your help and a wonderful trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2013
Really glad that you had such a relaxing break and the children felt at home. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future, plus the extra one of course!
Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Who had to open and close the gate to stop the cows getting out!!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The pump track in the village is also good fun if you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarah jan...
hartlepool
1 review
“Peace and tranquility...”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2011

Stunning views, ideal for walking and biking. Perfect for children and groups. The facilities are perfect with great attention to detail.Loved every moment.

Cleanliness- 100% and heated very well. Fantatic to have a bath and a shower. Very spacious and kitchen user friendly.

Easy travel to Snowdonia, Abersytwyth, Chester and Liverpool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and tranquility
Liked least: nothing- perfect!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2012
Many thanks for your comments. I'm glad the children enjoyed and you managed to see some of the highlights of North Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
East Grinstead
1 review
“Lovely cottage and location”
Reviewed 23 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Lovely cottage, both internally, with it's wooden beams, slate and wood floors, and location, set in the North East Wales countryside. Enjoyed the local wildlife, including a Black Grouse in one of the fields local to the cottage, and a sparrowhawk that perched on the wall outside the kitchen. Cottage both well equipped and very clean. Close to the very beautiful Clwydian mountain range and Llangollen/Berwyn Hills, which are good for both walking and on/off-road cycling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable cottage
Liked least: There wasn't anything to dislike
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2012
Thank-you for your comments. I'm glad you had a nice time enjoying the local area, there is certainly plenty of good cycling around here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 128
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing