We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay on business trip”
Review of Lord Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Reviewed 30 April 2012

It is hard to find good hotels in this area but this is one of the best. I've stayed at Cledau brige before but not satisfied. The staff claimed that all the rooms are referbushed now and I got one of this. Clean and nice enviroment. The breakfast was OK. After being in so many hotels is very hard someone to suprise me with exceletn breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chokoboko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Lord Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

we stayed at the lord nelson hotel and it was the worst place we have ever stayed. the only good thing about the hotel was the room, the food was aba=saloutly discsting and the beer was flat they are exstreamly under staffed as we had to wait half hour to be served. we think the hotel is very poorly managed and needs remanaging. we also found it very odd that when arriving at the hotel not one but both managers was smoking inside of the hotel at the back of the hotel in the car park . this stay will not stop us from going to milford haven but we will NOT be staying with the nelson ....

Room Tip: stay some were else
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pheobee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you're looking for quick, good, basic food this is ideal. Lots of space, nice garden and good views.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at the Lord Nelson on Friday 20th January 2012 for 2 nights, using the "Brains" second night free offer.
Having read the mixed reports on "Trip Advisor" we phoned to book, asking for a refurbished room with Harbour views. The Manager in reply to our question regarding checking-in time advised that as our allocated room was empty, we could come when ready - Great atitude!.
The room that we were allocated was on the second floor, and when we asked for a first floor room (No lift) we wer offered the Lord Nelson Suite (Where Nelson was supposed to have slept). Calling this room a Suite is stretching a point, it's a largeroom with a sofa low table and two chairs.This room being on the front corner has great views of the harbour and marina and a double aspect. However I'd believe the Managers' clam that it was newly refurbished, it was clean, bright and smartly decorated. The bed was a USA queen size, being two 3ft singles joined together, and comfortably firm. Downsides? Well we had to jam paper in the window frame to stop the window rattling all night, and the wall mounted TV is too small for the size of room and can't be viewed from the sofa.
Both nights we dined in the bar, from the standard "Brains" menu, using the JAN/FEB discount vouchers , and the food was excellent and portions generous. The value for money with the 5 ponnds off two mains was very worthwhile, as was the voucher for a free pint of beer. It's a shame that these vouchers can't be used for the Blackboard daily "Specials".
Breakfast was prompt and again generous although the quality of the sausages and beans was poor.
The biggest dissapointment was that the advertised WIFI wasn't available during the whole of our stay, and the front desk didn't seem to care. The heating to our room didn't come on the first night and several trips to the reception got it working by 19.00hrs by when the room was chilly. I suspect that the heating was set for 19.00hrs!
Parking at the rear of the Hotel was shared with local taxis, or perhaps the taxis drivers eat there! There was broked glass in the parking area.
So a little off being excellent, but the friendly bar staff, great room and excellent food, and did I mention the view from our room! A BARGAIN

Room Tip: Book by phone and discuss the available rooms. Rooms at the front have water views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We originally booked for one night using Booking.com but after reading a previous review telephoned the hotel and spoke with the Assistant Manager. We explained our concern and after some discussion felt that the Hotel was right for our needs - we booked for a further night and were put in a refurbished room which was large, comfortable, clean, and overlooked the harbour. The breakfasts were well cooked and plentiful and the staff friendly and efficient. We had a family meal on the first evening (18 of us) and the waiter remembered every single persons order without having to be reminded who was having what. The hotel does need some TLC but refurbishment takes time. If you have concerns ring and speak with management they are very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Room overlooking harbour but talk to the management they are helpful
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Haven
8.7 km away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
296 reviews
7.4 km away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
301 reviews
6.9 km away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
24.2 km away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
302 reviews
9.8 km away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pembroke
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Address: 9 Hamilton Terrace, Milford Haven SA73 3AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Price Range: $119 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Nelson 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Hotel Milford Haven
Lord Nelson Milford Haven, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing