We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sunday Lunch and Seafood”
Review of Golden Pot

Golden Pot
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Eversley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Privately owned Free-house under new ownership since May 2014, stocking local cask ales and a large selection of quality wines. Home made food all prepared on the premises by our chefs with a large selection of daily fresh fish dishes with fresh fish delivered every day from the Devon coast including Cod, John Dory, Bass, Bream, Oysters, Whitebait, Crab, Lemon Sole, Mussels, Turbot, Skate Wings, Squid,Plaice,Turbot, Brill,Lobster, Salmon etc etc .Other creative dishes with ingredients sourced from local suppliers wherever possible including Lamb, Hampshire Pork, Premier Scotch steaks, Duck, Corn Fed Chicken and Salmon. Selection of Vegetarian dishes and Gluten free dishes can be provided as all food cooked fresh to order and can be adapted to suit. Lovely 300 year old traditional village pub "as they used to be". Children, dogs in the bar area and group bookings welcome. Outdoor seating area available. Car park at the front and at the rear, free wi-fi. Particular species of Fish can be pre ordered 24hours before your booking subject to market availability but we generally have a selection of 10 species of fish and shellfish available every day Food served : Monday to Friday 12 o'clock to 2.30pm and evenings 6pm to 9pm Saturday 12 o'clock all day until 9pm Sunday 12 o'clock all day until 9pm
Reviewed 21 September 2017

They specialise in seafood and we had a variety of seafood starters which were very good, I had crab. We all had Sunday roast, roast beef and lamb which was perfectly cooked. The vegetables were excellent as well. A good selection of beers, all in all one couldn't ask much more for a Sunday lunch in a country pub. Lots of parking in front and behind the building. On a Sunday they serve throughout the afternoon which some pubs in the area tend not to on a Sunday. We went in about 15:00 and there were plenty of tables.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MIADangerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

I have visited this Pub now on a few occasions, since the Management has changed.
I was totally satisfied with the service received, and good to see from a country pub.

Brilliant

Andy

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

It was ok, steak sandwich was good and the kids egg and bacon sandwich was ok too. What was disappointing that the table was sticky and when the food was served on boards they didn't fit on the table, the waitress left my daughters half on mine and half on the table...

Have been previously end enjoyed a lovely steak.... but this time we felt there were a few details not quite up to scratch.

2  Thank Tamsin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen J, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Tamsin,

Thank you for your review and apologies that everything wasn't as expected.

I am actively seeking an alternative to the boards but it does also sound like common sense didn't prevail in your case - something which we will address.

With regards to the table - having just checked others I suspect the new 'food safe' spray cleaner we've started using is leaving a residue - thank you for pointing it out to us.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal with my husband and our son for our 22nd wedding anniversary. Fabulous choice of fresh fish on the menu, could not fault it. Lots of other choice too if fish not your thing. Definitely go back for the fish menu again soon

Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen J, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your kind review - so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We were regular customers at the Golden Pot, but it has new owners who are failing badly and have no idea about running a pub restaurant.
We booked a table and waited 35 minutes before they were able to take an order for food. Without table service I waited nine minutes at the bar to get a drink whilst the staff chatted with no customer interest. This allowed me to observe through an open door the revolting unhygienic kitchen conditions. Seeing the kitchen dirtiness caused a loss of appetite!
There where children running behind the bar... I assume they were the landlord's family members, but still inappropriate.
Frustrated, we left without eating and went elsewhere.
Clearly the new owners are incompetent. Hence avoid...!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

So.......

Lets begin at the beginning:

This is the second time we've seen you as a 'regular customer' - the first time you had a young waitress very close to tears and this time you actually succeeded.

You booked a table at very short notice and were informed on the phone that we were very busy and there would be, at least, a 30 minute wait (failing badly?). If you knew this wouldn't be acceptable to you then why agree to it?

My staff dispute you had to wait 'nine' minutes for a drink and as for your spurious comments about the kitchen..............

There weren't children running behind the bar, there was just my son getting some soft drinks for his cricket teammates who had come with their parents to celebrate a famous cup victory.

You didn't 'leave without eating' you were asked, by me, to leave as your behaviour was inappropriate and unacceptable. "Pompous bordering on very rude" was just one of the comments made by customers at nearby tables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Pot also viewed

Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
Finchampstead, Wokingham
 

Been to Golden Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing