We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its an OK place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
CoogMeister
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Its an OK place”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Having read the previous reviews of this hotel I think they must have stayed somewhere else. This is a perfectly nice hotel with very friendly staff. The room I stayed in was lovely and it’s got a nicely appointed gym with a sauna and a swimming pool. The room rate was also very reasonable.
On the other hand the prices charged for food and drink is alarmingly high. They wanted £20 for breakfast and as all I normally eat is a bowl of cereal I figured that I would give it a miss. The worst thing about this hotel is the seemingly random system that they use to number the rooms. Rooms 400 to 438 are on the second floor in block A and rooms 439 to 460 are on the second floor in block B. The problem is that you don’t find that out until after you have spent several minutes wandering around the second floor of the wrong block saying hello to people who are wandering around just as lost as you are. It doesn’t help that the decor everywhere is exactly the same. Trying to find my room reminded me very much of a the film The Cube
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MY5PkidV1cM


I would recommend staying there. The food is OK too but be ready for a big bill.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Beaumont House. It was much appreciated, especially with regards to previous reviews and the consideration they may have stayed elsewhere. Whilst I take all feedback from these reviews most seriously, I too agree that within some, I do not recognise Beaumont House either.

It was most appreciated highlighting the cost of breakfast as this indicated a training need in the restaurant as our breakfast should be charged at £14.95 and not the £20.00 you were quoted. I am extremely sorry you received the wrong price and that it caused you to give breakfast a miss. I appreciate that £14.95 is still a high cost for a bowl of cereal but would hope to have enticed you to enjoy a special treat with our full English breakfast or perhaps the wide range of fresh fruits and bakery items that are also available included within the same price.

I'm sorry you found the need to wander in trying to find your room and appreciate the constructive comment regarding all the decor being the same which didn't help. Although this can not be changed immediately, it will certainly be added to our considerations when we are next doing some refurbishments to these areas.

Once again, I do appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and hope to be welcoming you back to Beaumont Estate in the near future.

Kind regards

Julie Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    927
    940
    687
    527
See reviews for
1,204
941
50
783
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had booked a one night stay at the weekend using Travelzoo. As having read some previous comments we were open minded to what we would find. On arrival we were impressed by the hotel. We had arrived early but this was no problem to the receptionist who was very friendly and had a room ready, she explained the facilities and gave us a map to find our room, yes as other say you could get lost as its so big , but was it a problem no ! Our room was lovely, modern and clean and much better than expected so thumbs up!
We used the pool and this was an area that we felt it was in need of a facelift, quite drab and a bit musty!
The restaurant was so cold we moved table twice this was quite uncomfortable, when our food arrived we were not impressed and it was cold, we did complain and this was taken on board and was dealt with. Breakfast was adequate!
On the whole I would say the room was good, food bad, staff very helpful, we would stay again but maybe eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertoswedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Beaumont House, your kind comments were most appreciated.

I also appreciated your feedback with regards to the pool area and have given your comments to the Leisure Club Manager to ensure any musty smell is dealt with immediately. This is always a concern in pool and gym areas with the natural dampness and humidity and your comments have ensured the area is being re-focused upon. I am sure any musty smell will not be an issue in the future.

My Executive Food & Beverage Manager would like to extend, as would I, our apologies that your dining experience was not what you would have hoped for. However, I am pleased that your complaint was dealt with at the time and comments taken on board. We do empower our staff to react immediately to any guest comments as we would always rather solve any issue at the time, to try and ensure each guest has a pleasant stay. Hopefully, if you are to return again, you will try our restaurant or Tempus Bar Grill one more time and we will redeem our reputation with you.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and we hope to welcome you back to Beaumont House in the future.

Kind regards


Julie Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Like others, we booked on the travelzoo offer. Rooms were fine - clean and comfortable - although would prefer a more detailed map as we were constantly getting lost. Buffet breakfast was not very nice - cold, hard eggs, poor quality sausages - but there is cereal and pastries. Lots of confusion on Reception with our bookings and pre-payment. Probably fine for a conference or wedding/party but thats about it. Most of the staff do try hard but I didnt notice any support from managment

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Beaumont Estate following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read you found your room clean and comfortable and have taken on board your comments regarding the need for a more detailed map to be available. It was disappointing to read your comments regarding breakfast and I can assure you that this is not our normal standard. Your comments have been passed to the Food Services Manager to ensure measures are in place to prevent the eggs ever being served cold or hard and to check the sausage supplier to ensure the highest quality is being delivered.

It's kind of you to comment on the staff trying hard and I will ensure this positive comment is fed back to them, thank you. We will also ensure the Duty Managers are informed regarding the lack of management presence you felt during your stay as I can assure you, management are always on hand to support our staff and ensure guests are looked after during their stay. Please accept my apologies this was not evident during your stay.

Once again, thank you for the feedback, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Julie Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Have just stayed for one night with friends, this was a Travel Zoo offer and as such you should always accept that some will be better than others. We were about as far from reception as you can be. However if you use a little common sense and check in then drive to the relevant car park there is no problem. A little walk to get to the bar or restaurant is not going to do you any harm. There was a large wedding party plus another couple of bithday parties, these did not interfere with us at all. Dinner was very good and the service was excellent. Only slight complaint was that the restaurant was a little cold. Breakfast was good and pleantiful though orange juice not good, Overall a very pleasant stay and will be looking out for the next offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Beaumont Estate following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that dinner in the Tempus Restaurant was excellent. I also appreciated the constructive comments and will be looking into the issue with the orange juice and temperature control in the breakfast room with my food service team, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

It will be great to welcome you back to Beaumont Estate, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards

Julie Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is OK. Not great, just OK, but if you get a good deal and you just want a room for the night don't discount it.

Positives:
Free parking
Clean and warm rooms
Reasonably modern furnishings
Comfortable bed
Lovely setting
Good breakfast
Safety box in room
Lots of hot water

Now for the rest...
When you check in and they give you a map you know you are in for a trek! You will have already walked quite a way from the car park and now you have a long walk to your room. So, pack carefully and use a trolley bag if you have one and put everything in it, if you end up trying to juggle your belongings or carrying a suit on a hanger you will struggle! Otherwise it isn't really a problem (unless you have mobility issues) just a bit of a nuisance, which you might accept if you got a good deal.

The room I had was nothing special but equally nothing to complain about, but as per one of the previous reviews when I got in the bath the side panel fell off! The room was warm but the rest of the hotel was really cold, probably because it is so big to heat.

Room service? No chance! There is a pizza menu in your room, but if you don't want a pizza there is nothing else to order. If you do want a pizza you have to go and get it! You phone up and then they tell you what time to go and collect it, assuming it is not cold by the time you get to your room at least you will have worked it off by the time you eat it! So once again, if you are planning to eat out or in the restaurant this would not be an issue, but if you want a night in you PJs after a hard days work you might find it irritating!

In summary, if you get a good rate, want a reasonable room, pack well, don't mind a long walk and don't want room service then this hotel should not be discounted, if you are expecting a touch of luxury look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleDollyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay and for adding the lists of positives. I appreciated the frankness and objectiveness to your comments.

I do understand your comments regarding the long walk to some of our bedrooms, it can seem such a distance especially after carrying luggage from the car park. I will be reviewing our procedures upon making a reservation with Beaumont Estate as we would normally suggest to all guests that upon arrival at the hotel, they park temporarily at the reception area and avoid unloading luggage until checked-in to their rooms. This way, with 5 car parks surrounding the hotel, our guests are able to drive to the nearest car park to their use the entrance closest to their accommodation. I apologise sincerely that this piece of information was not made available to you prior to your arrival and thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Regarding the room service comments, this is an area we continue to review operationally and thank you for your input into this review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Julie Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
8.1 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
4.3 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
1.8 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
4.2 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
4.3 km away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Property: De Vere Beaumont Estate
Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price range (per night): $120 - $307
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing