We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
68
31
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
31
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view decked area the ground floor main meal full english fish and chips tea and coffee cottage landlady fridge folkestone hosts france anita tunnel cereal shampoo
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Firstly, the inn is in a lovely setting overlooking the beach, lovely sun trap sun terrace. However the staff left a lost to be desired. On arrival, asked for a glass of Sauvignon Blanc but was to would have to have a Pinot as the had to go to shop to get Sauvignon! After ordering our meal in the restaurant which was rather empty for a Saturday night, we were told we were being too curb our noise, by a waitress that had already slammed our drinks on the table. She was extremely obnoxious and I asked to speak to owner who was even worse. So although we had unpacked in our rooms, we decided to leave as there was no way we were going to pay in a place where we had been so badly insulted. Incidentally we are not teenagers, but 4 friends in our 50's! I have since found out that the owner is quite notorious in the area for his rudeness. Perhaps he would be better running a library.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jacfran67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at this place and it was really good. It is a small family-run business and they were all so friendly & helpful. We had the ground floor room, with an outside decked area, facing the sea, which was lovely as we had really good weather. The room and shower room was very clean & the bed was really comfortable. There was a fridge & kettle, and fresh milk left in the fridge, which was great for making tea/coffees. The landlady cooks a really good full english cooked breakfast which we ate in the restaurant.. The restaurant faces the sea and we also had our dinner there in the evening - the food was excellent and all freshly cooked. Probably best to book your table for this when you check in, as it gets very busy in the evening and is obviously a very popular place to eat. There is a nice little bar area in the pub, where you can sit and relax and have a drink or two! We loved this place and wished we had longer. Its in a good location for exploring the area or Channel crossings.

Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, to enjoy the beauty of Dover. Excellent service with a smile, clean and comfortable room, and delicious food. Even the storm wasn't enough to dampen our weekend.

Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We were a party of 9 and were given a private room as the restaurant was full. The welcome and service was very good. The have their own micro-brewery as well as several other beers and a nice wine list. The food was very good and the owner came in to thank us for choosing his pub. Altogether we had a very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mac42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

A great little place and location if you want an overnight stop before catching an early ferry or euro tunnel. Great food too. No private parking is the downside but easy enough to stop on the road outside. Recommended!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews