We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dangerous bedroom.”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Sandgate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Booked this place on Booking.com as the Inn's website photos looked as if it was a great place - BIG mistake! We were greeted by Wendy, the owner, to be told that we were in the cottage next door. We had an early suspicion of what was to come as the entrance corridor had flaking plaster and smelt of refuse from the wheelie bins at the end of the corridor. Through the first door where we were faced with a flight of dirty stairs at the bottom of which was an odd slipper, an item of clothing and two fire extinguishers hidden away under the stairs. The room was something else!!! The light switch was behind the door only visible when the door was closed! One of the two dimmer switches operated four of the eight ceiling lights, the other switch did not work but there were only two bulbs out of four fitted. There were two bedside lamps on one side, both without bulbs and one with a dusty lampshade. One lamp was plugged in to the wall socket and switched on but we were unable to reach in and switch it off as it was jammed by a wedged in unit. Reach out in the night and touch the live lamp and dread the result. The dust behind the bed must have been there months as had the cobweb on the ceiling. The glasses on the tea tray were dirty. The bathroom sash window was propped open with a toilet roll and above the mirror were bare electrical wires wound together and held together with green and yellow insulation tape - IN A BATHROOM!!!! If by then you had not electrocuted yourself you ran the risk of the full length, frameless mirror leant against the wall in the bedroom falling and shattering. The windows were filthy with flaking paint. We declined an invitation to dine in their restaurant having seen the cleanliness of the bedroom. We did however have breakfast, we had paid for it and their web site said no cancellation etc. That was good, plenty and well cooked. The dead spider on the window sill did not add to the ambience of their lovely restaurant.
The location is great almost on the beach with great views if you are lucky enough not to have our room that overlooked a bomb site of rubbish. The ONLY good thing was the clean comfy bed.
When we pointed this out to Wendy prior to leaving she said she could not move the bed as she had broken her arm and blamed the dangerous bathroom wiring on the builder. She was getting upset and told me to stop going on. We paid the £75.00 and left, never to return.

Room Tip: The web site apparently shows some nice rooms but it certainly did not show the disaster we stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Firstly, the inn is in a lovely setting overlooking the beach, lovely sun trap sun terrace. However the staff left a lost to be desired. On arrival, asked for a glass of Sauvignon Blanc but was to would have to have a Pinot as the had to go to shop to get Sauvignon! After ordering our meal in the restaurant which was rather empty for a Saturday night, we were told we were being too curb our noise, by a waitress that had already slammed our drinks on the table. She was extremely obnoxious and I asked to speak to owner who was even worse. So although we had unpacked in our rooms, we decided to leave as there was no way we were going to pay in a place where we had been so badly insulted. Incidentally we are not teenagers, but 4 friends in our 50's! I have since found out that the owner is quite notorious in the area for his rudeness. Perhaps he would be better running a library.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jacfran67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at this place and it was really good. It is a small family-run business and they were all so friendly & helpful. We had the ground floor room, with an outside decked area, facing the sea, which was lovely as we had really good weather. The room and shower room was very clean & the bed was really comfortable. There was a fridge & kettle, and fresh milk left in the fridge, which was great for making tea/coffees. The landlady cooks a really good full english cooked breakfast which we ate in the restaurant.. The restaurant faces the sea and we also had our dinner there in the evening - the food was excellent and all freshly cooked. Probably best to book your table for this when you check in, as it gets very busy in the evening and is obviously a very popular place to eat. There is a nice little bar area in the pub, where you can sit and relax and have a drink or two! We loved this place and wished we had longer. Its in a good location for exploring the area or Channel crossings.

Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, to enjoy the beauty of Dover. Excellent service with a smile, clean and comfortable room, and delicious food. Even the storm wasn't enough to dampen our weekend.

Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We were a party of 9 and were given a private room as the restaurant was full. The welcome and service was very good. The have their own micro-brewery as well as several other beers and a nice wine list. The food was very good and the owner came in to thank us for choosing his pub. Altogether we had a very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mac42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandgate
1.8 km away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
200 reviews
3.6 km away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,929 reviews
0.7 km away
Sandgate Hotel
Sandgate Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
1.9 km away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
515 reviews
0.3 km away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sandgate
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: 65 Sandgate High Street | Sandgate, Sandgate, Folkestone CT20 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone > Sandgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandgate
Price Range: $112 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Folkestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing