We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Princess Garden

Princess Garden
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Ponteland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Came for the special all-you-can-eat menu for £18.50 and was really impressed. Restaurant has a quiet, relaxed atmosphere and staff were attentive and professional. Sampled lots of different items on the menu and all lovely. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 71ninal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Nina L,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
It’s a joy to read your review after reading the previous one on TripAdvisor.
We are a small family business and love reading reviews like yours especially if its the first time you have tried Princess Garden and we look forward to your return.
Regards Paul Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

I booked a table for a family meal and a trip down memory lane. We used to have excellent food and great service. This time we didn't have either and the bill was very expensive. In the good old days (about 5 years ago) you used to have a takeaway of the food you couldn't eat on the banqueting menu. Now they don't allow it, so all the food that you don't eat goes in the bin after you have left. Hope they change the restaurant to the way it used to be, otherwise it will end up being closed down - pity.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sr267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear SR267,
Elaine the manageress is also Very Disappointed with your review. You party of 5 had a total bill of £124.50 that’s less than £25 per head which included the all you can Buffet menu and 2 bottles of wine from the wine list.
Your party had no complaints at all until you wanted to include a takeaway for your £25 per head !
A few years ago we had to stop letting customers do this or we would be in the same position as the owners in your SO CALLED GOOD OLD DAYS ( out of business )
It clearly explains on the very front of the menu all food must be consumed on the premises !
Why not try your theory at one of the Buffet places in town and see what reaction you get !!!!!!
And lastly for the record since taking on the Restaurant we are busier now than it has ever been and would only have to close if we did the same as the previous owners and allow unrealistic customers to abuse us.
Paul Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I have been coming to Princess Gardens Restaurant for a number of years with my family, and tonight was no different. Food was lovely and service was great.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Leanne P,
Thank you very much for your great review and your continued support of Princess Garden.
Regards Paul Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Like I say was bit concerned reading geordielady review but absolutely no problems for us. Great food & friendly manageress ( think she was called Elaine)
Actually one complaint from us . . . the food was so nice that Ive ate far to much because food was delicious.
Will be back very very soon
Mr jiggy

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Paul P,
Thank you for you great review and I’m very pleased you see that poor review the way do Totally Unfare and inaccurate on all levels.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards Paul Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Couldn't believe we were charged £2.80 for cordial and water. Totally outrageous. Also tried to charge us for a lager we didn't have. Feel we were ripped off. Food ok but not worth £18.50. We won't be back

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank geordieladynewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear geordieladynewcastle,
We are totally perplexed at your review and feel a one star review is totally unfair and uncalled for and the following response from me will inform any readers of the embarrassing facts of your visit to my restaurant.
You arrived as a party of 12 people all on one table and you all ordered drinks.
Drinks were served then someone on your table noticed we have a 10% service charge on the food for tables of 6 and over that's £1.85 each.
You then decided to divide your party in to a 7 on one side and 5 on the other to avoid 5 people paying the service which in all our years in business nobody has ever done that !!
You were charged £2.20 for your soft drink and the pint of lager was allocated to the wrong side of the table which we was corrected by the member of staff at the end of the meal, the mistake was made due to the whole table moving seats anyway !
Not really sure where you dine out if you think our style of menu is not good value for money !!
The whole table was not charged the service charge after your refusal to pay it and then the party of 7 gave us a good tip which makes your review even more odd.
I suspect the party of 7 have no idea that you have left such a poor review. To save yourself the embarrassment you should remove this ridiculous review from your account.
Paul Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princess Garden also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Cramlington, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Been to Princess Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing